Zelluläre Immunologie

Alumni seit 2010



Our research focuses on the function of different types of human memory and regulatory T cells. CD4+ memory and regulatory T cells are highly heterogeneous populations that can be sub-divided into various subsets with different functions. In particular, memory T cells secrete different types of effector cytokines and can be classified into IFN- secreting Th 1 cells, which activate phagocytes to eliminate intracellular bacteria and viruses, IL-4 secreting Th 2 cells that promote IgE production and eosinophil activation to fight parasitic worms, and IL-17 producing Th 17 cells that induce the recruitment of neutrophils to kill extracellular bacteria and fungi. Conversely, regulatory T cells (Tregs) suppress immune responses and inhibit autoimmunity in mouse models, and possess therefore therapeutic potential in autoimmune diseases. They can be subdivided into natural Tregs, which become committed to the Treg lineage already upon thymic maturation, and into adaptive ones, which acquire regulatory properties upon tolerogenic priming in the periphery. The latter contain IL-10 producing regulatory T cell subsets, which suppress immune responses via the potent antiinflammatory cytokine IL-10. IL-10 producing T cells in the human are studied nearly exclusively following induction or expansion in vitro with different protocols, which strongly alters the properties of T cells. It is therefore important to study IL-10 producing T cells directly ex vivo, and we were recently the fi rst to identify and characterize regulatory, IL-10 producing T cell subsets that were isolated directly ex vivo from human peripheral blood (Häringer et al. J Exp Med 2009, Rivino et al. J Exp Med 2010). In order to use “real” IL-10 producing regulatory cells in clinical trials, it is important to identify surface markers that allow their isolation and to further characterize their properties. We are currently trying to identify more specific surface markers for these subsets, study their regulation by transcription factors and monitor their presence in different pathologies in lymphoid and non-lymphoid tissues. The research group was dissolved after 4 years in July 2010, since we have moved to the National Institute of Molecular Genetics (INGM) in Milan, Italy,
where we continue to study the biology of human regulatory T cell subsets.

Jens Geginat

Jens Geginat, PhD

Instituto nazionale di Genetica Molecolare (INGM)
Sforza 32
20122 Milano

Weitergehende Informationen finden Sie auf der Website des INGM

Radbruch Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Andreas Radbruch Zellbiologie Triantafyllopoulou_klein Dr. Antigoni Triantafyllopoulou Angeborene Immunität bei Rheumatologischen Erkrankungen Thurley Dr. Kevin Thurley Systembiologie der Entzündung Ahmed Hegazy Prof. Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Ahmed N. Hegazy Entzündungsmechanismen Polansky Dr. Julia Polansky-Biskup Immun-Epigenetik Melchers Prof. Dr. Fritz Melchers Lymphozytenentwicklung Farzin Mashreghi Dr. Mir-Farzin Mashreghi Therapeutische Genregulation Kruglov Dr. rer. nat. Andrey Kruglov Chronische Entzündung Loehning Prof. Dr. Max Löhning Pitzer-Labor Arthroseforschung Kubagawa Prof. Dr. Hiromi Kubagawa Humoral Immune Regulation Hauser Prof. Dr. med. vet. Anja Erika Hauser Immundynamik Tokoyoda Dr. Koji Tokoyoda Osteoimmunologie Scheffold Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Alexander Scheffold Zelluläre Immunologie Niesner Dr. rer. nat. Raluca Niesner Biophysikalische Analytik Strangfeld Dr. med. Anja Strangfeld Pharmakoepidemiologie Minden Prof. Dr. med. Kirsten Minden Kinder- und Jugendrheumatologie Listing Dr. Joachim Listing Biometrie / Klinische Studien Angela_Zink_230x230 Prof. Dr. Angela Zink Versorgungsforschung Worm Prof. Dr. med. Margitta Worm Allergologie Poddubnyy Prof. Dr. Denis Poddubnyy Spondyloarthritiden Riemekasten Prof. Dr. med. Gabriela Riemekasten Zell-Autoimmunität Hiepe Prof. Dr. med. Falk Hiepe Autoimmunologie Hamann Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Alf Hamann Experimentelle Rheumatologie Doerner Prof. Dr. med. Thomas Dörner B-Zell Gedächtnis Buttgereit Prof. Dr. med. Frank Buttgereit Glucokortikoide & Bioenergetik Romagnani Prof. Dr. Chiara Romagnani Angeborene Immunität Hutloff Dr. rer. nat. Andreas Hutloff Chronische Immunreaktionen Fillatreau Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Simon Fillatreau Immunregulation Baumgrass Prof. Dr. Ria Baumgrass Signaltransduktion Nedospasow Prof. Dr. Sergei Nedospasov Entzündungsbiologie