Home Latest News News Prof. Dr. med. Elisabeth Märker-Hermann neue Präsidentin des Stiftungsrates
For patients |

Prof. Elisabeth Märker-Hermann (MD) is the new President of the Board of Trustees

Prof. Dr. med. Elisabeth Märker-Hermann from Wiesbaden was elected as the new President of the DRFZ Board of Trustees on 4th April 2022. Elisabeth Märker-Hermann succeeds Reinhold E. Schmidt, who sadly passed away unexpectedly on 23rd January 2022. Prof. Dr. med. Thomas Krieg, Vice President of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, was elected Vice President of the Board.

Elisabeth Märker-Hermann has been a member and deputy president of the Board of Trustees since 2012. As the new president, she is now taking on the challenge of shaping the change in the scientific leadership of the institute. She looks forward to her new commitment at the DRFZ:

“The DRFZ is the place where translational research originating from basic immunological science, together with important epidemiological findings, directly benefits those affected with rheumatic diseases. This also applies to other chronic inflammatory immune-mediated diseases. “Making rheumatic diseases curable” is the clearly defined goal. It is a mission that every single DRFZ working group, the future new scientific management, but also strategically the Board of Trustees are actively involved in implementing. As the new president, this is both an honour and an incentive for me.

A rheumatologist by training, Elisabeth Märker-Hermann is currently the Director of the Clinic for Internal Medicine IV with a focus on rheumatology, clinical immunology and nephrology at the HELIOS Dr. Horst Schmidt Kliniken in Wiesbaden. After studying medicine and subsequently obtaining her doctorate in Mainz, she habilitated there with a thesis on the immunopathogenesis of reactive arthritis and spondyloarthritis. Elisabeth Märker-Hermann has been the Chair of the German Society for Internal Medicine and President of the German Society for Rheumatology. She is also Chair of the Board of Trustees of the German Rheumastiftung, to name just a few of her commitments. Prof. Märker-Hermann has received many awards, including the Advancement Award of the city Clausthal-Zellerfeld of the Robert Koch Foundation and the Dr Franziskus Blondel Medal of the City of Aachen.

President of the Board of Trustees Prof. Dr. med. Elisabeth Märker-Hermann more
Sign up for the
DRFZ NewsFlash