Home Career Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs Promovierendennetzwerk am DRFZ

Doctoral student network at the DRFZ

Student network within the ScienceCampus Chronic Inflammation

Sandy Bauherr

Alexander Fielder

Hello fellow PhD researchers!

Who are we?

We are Sandy Bauherr (AG Hauser) and Alexander Fiedler (AG Niesner), two doctoral researchers in our second year. From our own experience, we know that the PhD time is a double edged sword: the ecstasy of joy, the depths of despair – fascinating and exciting but also stressful, and frustrating.

Of course, you can figure out how to cope with this by yourself but exchanging experience is also a nice option.

What is our function as PhD Representatives?

We are the ones you can turn to if you have questions or problems on your heart. We provide information and try to help you solve problems or find someone who can help you. If you’re new at the institute, we are your welcome committee and introduce you to the PhD world of the DRFZ.

What is our vision?

Create opportunities…

… to get to know who you’re working with in an open and friedly atmosphere.

… for sharing experience and useful information among the doctoral researchers.

… get new insights through different scientific and non-scientific events and workshops.

PhD beyond the DRFZ

Keep in mind, that there is a whole PhD universe even beyond the DRFZ. We encourage you to be curious about all the different graduate schools, Leibniz PhD Network, Charité PhD Network, etc. (and their respective fellow PhD researchers). Using these external platforms is a nice approach to open one’s view and get a glimpse of fresh ideas and resources.

You can reach us at the following email address: phd-reps@drfz.de


The PhD network was established in 2016 as part of the Leibniz Science Campus Chronic Inflammation.


We thank our predecessors for their commitment:

Former doctoral students representatives at the DRFZ

  • Rebecca Cornelis and Lukas Heiberger (from August 2017 to July 2018)
  • Marie Urbicht and Jonathan Stefanowski (from August 2016 to July 2017)

Former representatives in the steering committee of the Leibniz PhD Network

  • Jonathan Stefanowski, spokesperson (from 2018 to 2019)
  • Lukas Heiberger (from 2018 to 2019)
  • Marie Urbicht (from 2017 to 2018)
Sign up for the
DRFZ NewsFlash