Home Research Tierzucht

Animal Facility

Animal welfare and good research go hand in hand

Introduction
Personnel
Further information
Cooperation partners

Although the development of alternative methods to animal experiments is progressing steadily, certain scientific questions still require the use of animal models. In particular, for the understanding of diseases such as autoimmunity, in which different organ systems and cell types are involved, the complexity of a living organism is currently indispensable.

To answer questions in the context of the complete organism, the DRFZ operates a state-of-the-art animal facility and houses a variety of different mouse strains. Genetically modified mice in particular are an important component of biomedical research at the DRFZ. The facility is divided into an animal experimental unit in Berlin Mitte and a separate breeding facility in Berlin Marienfelde. Specially trained animal technicians and veterinarians guarantee optimal housing conditions and their monitoring in terms of animal welfare.

All mice are kept under so-called SPF (specified pathogen-free) conditions to ensure that they are free of pathogens that could affect the health of the animals and the success of planned experiments. To prevent pathogen intrusion, the facility is equipped with personnel hygiene barriers. All materials introduced are being sterilized by autoclaving beforehand. In addition, the health status of the mice is assessed at regular intervals to detect potentially pathogenic microorganisms at an early stage.

The DRFZ, an institute of the Leibniz Association, is committed to a transparent communication of the animal experiments performed at the institute towards the public. It is a member of the information initiative of scientific institutions “Tierversuche Verstehen” (engl.: Understanding Animal Research; www.tierversuche-verstehen.de), which provides information about animal experiments at publicly funded research institutions and promotes the dialogue between science and the public. Researchers at DRFZ are always obliged to follow the 3R principle in conducting animal experiments to reduce animal suffering in experiments to an indispensable level. The 3R stand for “Replace, Reduce, Refine”, in other words avoiding, reducing and improving animal experiments. In implementing the 3R, they are advised by independent animal welfare officers who also ensure and monitor animal welfare and compliance with all guidelines and regulations. The Animal Welfare Committee, which meets regularly and is composed of animal welfare officers, animal technicians and experimental scientists, supports the animal welfare officers in their work.

The DRFZ also offers a training program led by veterinarians to train scientists for their animal experimental activities in accordance with current legislation and considering animal welfare. This includes a theoretical and a practical part. Successful participation is certified. For all employees involved in animal experiments, the veterinarians also initiate and conduct regular training courses and advanced training with regard to the protection of laboratory animals and the 3Rs principle.

Keywords
Animal welfare
Animal protection
3R principle

Animal House Management and Deputy Animal Welfare Officer Dr. Lena Reiske Phone +49 30 28460 - 718 Lena.Reiske@drfz.de more
Tierschutzbeauftragte Dr. Theres Manthey Phone +49 30 28460 - 0 Theres.Manthey@drfz.de more

Contact: info@drfz.de

Continue to Personnel

Head of Animal Facility
Dr. Lena Reiske

Animal Welfare Officer
Dr. Theres Manthey
Dr. Lena Reiske (deputy)
Prof. Anja Hauser (deputy)

Administration und technical personnel:
Gruczek
Hoffmann
P. Hong
Kasprzak
Streckert
Theißig
Thiemann

Trainee
Jakob (since 09/2020)

Contact: info@drfz.de

Continue to Further information
Animal experiments in the Leibniz Association
Leibniz researchers conduct basic and applied research with the aim of developing ways to solve the major challenges facing society. Around 20 Leibniz Institutes, especially those in the field of life sciences, rely on animal experiments for their work. They aim, through their basic research, to make new treatments, drugs and technologies available to tackle widespread diseases, but also to improve animal wellbeing, for example in farming.
Initiative "Tierversuche verstehen" - in German only
„Tierversuche verstehen“ (engl.: Unterstanding animal research) is a German science initiative coordinated by the Alliance of Science Organizations. It provides comprehensive, up-to-date and fact-based information about animal experiments at publicly funded research institutions.

Contact: info@drfz.de

Continue to Cooperation partners

Dr. Uwe Klemm, Experimental Animals, Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Berlin

Dr. Geert Michel, Transgen Facility, FEM, Charité University Medicine Berlin

Ronald Naumann, Transgenic Core Facility, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden

Frank Zimmermann, Biotechnology Laboratory, University Heidelberg

Contact: info@drfz.de

Continue to Introduction
Print
Share
Sign up for the
DRFZ NewsFlash

Startseite Forschung Tierzucht

Tierzucht

Tierwohl und gute Forschung gehen Hand in Hand

Einleitung
Mitarbeitende
Weitere Informationen
Kooperationen

Obwohl die Entwicklung von Alternativmethoden zum Tierversuch immer weiter voranschreitet, muss bei bestimmten wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen weiterhin auf Tiermodelle zurückgegriffen werden. Insbesondere zum Verständnis von Erkrankungen wie Autoimmunität, bei der verschiedene Organsysteme und Zelltypen beteiligt sind, kann auf die Komplexität eines lebenden Organismus derzeit nicht verzichtet werden.

Für die Beantwortung von Fragestellungen im Gesamtorganismus betreibt das DRFZ eine hochmoderne Versuchstierhaltung und beherbergt eine Vielzahl verschiedener Mauslinien. Vor allem genetisch modifizierte Mäuse sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil der biomedizinischen Forschung am DRFZ. Die Anlage gliedert sich in einen tierexperimentellen Bereich in Berlin Mitte sowie eine separate Zuchtanlage in Berlin Marienfelde. Speziell ausgebildete Tierpflegende und Tierärztinnen garantieren hier optimale Haltungsbedingungen und deren Überwachung im Sinne des Tierschutzes.

Alle Mäuse werden unter sogenannten SPF (spezifiziert Pathogen-freien) Bedingungen gehalten, um sicherzustellen, dass diese frei von Krankheitserregern sind, die die Gesundheit der Tiere und geplante Experimente beeinflussen könnten. Um einem Eindringen von Pathogenen vorzubeugen ist die Anlage mit Personal-Hygieneschleusen ausgestattet. Alle eingeschleusten Materialien werden vorher durch Autoklavierung sterilisiert. Zudem wird der Gesundheitsstatus der Mäuse in regelmäßigen Abständen überprüft, um potentiell pathogene Mikroorganismen frühzeitig zu detektieren.

Das DRFZ, ein Institut der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, fühlt sich bezüglich der am Institut durchgeführten Tierversuche zu maximaler Transparenz gegenüber der Öffentlichkeit verpflichtet. Es ist Mitglied der Informationsinitiative der Wissenschaftsinstitutionen „Tierversuche verstehen“ (www.tierversuche-verstehen.de), die über Tierversuche an öffentlich geförderten Forschungseinrichtungen informiert und den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit fördert. Die Forschenden am DRFZ sind in der Durchführung von Tierversuchen stets dem 3R-Prinzip verpflichtet, um das Leid von Tieren im Versuch auf ein unerlässliches Maß zu verringern. Die 3R stehen für „Replace, Reduce, Refine“, zu Deutsch also das „Vermeiden, Verringern, Verbessern“ von Tierversuchen. In der Umsetzung der 3R werden sie von den weisungsunabhängigen Tierschutzbeauftragten beraten, die zudem das Wohlergehen der Tiere und die Einhaltung sämtlicher Richtlinien und Regularien sicherstellen und kontrollieren. Der regelmäßig tagende Tierschutzausschuss, zusammengesetzt aus Tierschutzbeauftragten, Tierpflegenden und experimentell arbeitenden Wissenschaftler*innen, unterstützt die Tierschutzbeauftragten in ihrer Tätigkeit.

Das DRFZ bietet zudem ein von Tierärztinnen angeleitetes Trainingsprogramm an, um Wissenschaftler*innen nach geltender Gesetzgebung und unter Berücksichtigung des Tierschutzes für ihre tierexperimentellen Tätigkeiten auszubilden. Dieses umfasst einen theoretischen sowie einen praktischen Teil. Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme wird mit einem Zertifikat bescheinigt. Für alle tierexperimentell tätigen Beschäftigten werden zudem regelmäßige Schulungen und Fortbildungen hinsichtlich des Versuchstierschutzes und des 3R-Prinzips durch die Tierärztinnen initiiert und durchgeführt.

Schlüsselwörter
Tierschutz
Tierwohl
3R Prinzip

Tierhausleitung und stellv. Tierschutzbeauftragte Dr. Lena Reiske Tel +49 30 28460 - 718 Lena.Reiske@drfz.de Zur Person
Tierschutzbeauftragte und Gleichstellungsbeauftragte Dr. Anna Pfeffer Tel +49 30 28460 - 0 Anna.Pfeffer@drfz.de Zur Person

Kontakt: info@drfz.de

Weiter zu Mitarbeitende

Tierhausleitung
Dr. Lena Reiske

Tierschutzbeauftragte
Dr. Anna Pfeffer

Dr. Lena Reiske (Stellvertreterin)
Prof. Anja Hauser (Stellvertreterin)

Administration und technisches Personal:
Gruczek
Hoffmann
P. Hong
Kasprzak
Streckert
Theißig
Thiemann

Auszubildender
Jakob (seit 09/2020)

Kontakt: info@drfz.de

Weiter zu Weitere Informationen
Tierversuche in der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft
Leibniz-Wissenschaftler*innen betreiben Grundlagen- und angewandte Forschung mit dem Ziel, Wege zur Lösung der großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen zu entwickeln. Rund 20 Leibniz-Institute, vor allem im Bereich der Lebenswissenschaften, sind bei ihrer Arbeit auf Tierversuche angewiesen. Sie streben danach, durch ihre Grundlagenforschung neue Behandlungen, Medikamente und Technologien zur Bekämpfung von Volkskrankheiten, aber auch zur Verbesserung des Wohlbefindens der Tiere, zum Beispiel in der Landwirtschaft, zur Verfügung zu stellen.
Tierversuche verstehen
„Tierversuche verstehen“ ist eine Initiative der deutschen Wissenschaft, koordiniert von der Allianz der Wissenschaftsorganisationen. Sie informiert umfassend, aktuell und faktenbasiert über Tierversuche an öffentlich geförderten Forschungseinrichtungen.

Kontakt: info@drfz.de

Weiter zu Kooperationen

Dr. Uwe Klemm, Tierhaltung, Max-Planck-Institut für Infektionsbiologie, Berlin

Dr. Geert Michel, Transgene Technologien, FEM, Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Ronald Naumann, Transgenic Core Facility, Max-Planck-Institut für Molekulare Zellbiologie und Genetik, Dresden

Frank Zimmermann, Biotechnologie Labor, Universität Heidelberg

Kontakt: info@drfz.de

Weiter zu Einleitung
Seite drucken
Seite teilen
DRFZ NewsFlash abonnieren