Home Research Research Groups and Technology Platforms

Research Groups and Technology Platforms

The DRFZ Research Groups

There are 25 research groups and 5 technology platforms at the DRFZ. In the descriptions used here, red stands for “Pathophysiology of Rheumatic Inflammation”, green for “Epidemiology and Health Services Research”, orange for “Regenerative Rheumatology” and violet for Technology Platforms.

pb1
pb1

Pathophysiology of Rheumatic Inflammation

This programme area is investigating the causes of chronic rheumatic inflammation. Central questions are: how are these diseases initiated and what maintains them? How can they be cured in a targeted and definitive way? The research goal is therefore to design selective and curative therapies. In order to be able to use these therapies effectively, researchers are also developing prognostic biomarkers to reliably assess the course of the disease and the response to a specific form of therapy.

pb2
pb2

Epidemiology and Health Care Research

This programme area has the task of investigating clinical, social and biological factors influencing the course of rheumatic diseases; investigating the complex interplay of disease-related and treatment-related risks; and evaluating the quality of rheumatological health care. The overarching goal is to improve the quality of life of children and adults suffering from rheumatic diseases, to make treatments safer and to make policy-makers aware of gaps in health care. This is based on large epidemiological studies conducted in close cooperation with around 500 paediatric and adult rheumatologists throughout Germany.

pb3
pb3

Regenerative Rheumatology

This programme area tries to find ways to regenerate tissue that has been destroyed by chronic degenerative diseases. The aim of the programme area is to gain a better understanding of the biology of cartilage-forming cells, and to influence cartilage formation in such a way that stable cartilage is rebuilt in affected joints in the long-term. Therapeutic oligonucleotides play an important role in this process: their suitability for the manipulation of chondrocytes and their precursors will be tested in animal models.

cf
cf

Technology platforms and service laboratories

In cooperation with its partners from the Charité and the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, the DRFZ operates a state-of-the-art technology platform for the analysis of individual immune cells.  In the so-called “Shared Resource Laboratories” (SRL), the cells are identified and isolated so that they can be further analyzed in molecular and functional studies. In the service laboratories we receive technological and logistical support for the standardization and quality-control of our studies.

Startseite Forschung Forschungsgruppen und Technologie-Plattformen

Forschungsgruppen und Technologie-Plattformen

Die Arbeitsgruppen am DRFZ

Hier stellen sich die 25 Forschungsgruppen und 5 Technologie-Plattformen vor. Die rote Markierung steht für Zugehörigkeit zum Programmbereich „Pathophysiologie rheumatischer Entzündungen“, die Grüne für „Epidemiologie und Versorgungsforschung“, Gelb steht für „Regenerative Rheumatologie“ und lila markiert die Technologie-Plattformen. Beschreibungen der Programmbereiche finden Sie hier.

pb1
pb1

Pathophysiologie rheumatischer Entzündungen

Der Programmbereich erforscht auf zellulärer und molekularer Ebene die Ursachen für die Entstehung chronisch rheumatischer Entzündungen. Zentrale Fragen sind: Wie entstehen die Erkrankungen und was hält sie in Gang? Wie kann man sie gezielt und endgültig heilen? Das Forschungsziel besteht also darin, selektive und kurative Therapien zu entwerfen. Um diese wirkungsvoll einsetzen zu können, entwickeln die Forschenden zudem prognostische Biomarker, um den Krankheitsverlauf sowie das Ansprechen auf eine bestimmte Therapieform zuverlässig einschätzen zu können.

pb2
pb2

Epidemiologie und Versorgungsforschung

Der Programmbereich hat die Aufgabe, klinische, soziale und biologische Einflussfaktoren auf den Verlauf rheumatischer Krankheiten zu untersuchen, das komplexe Zusammenspiel von krankheits- und behandlungsbedingten Risiken zu erforschen und die Qualität der rheumatologischen Versorgung zu bewerten. Übergeordnetes Ziel ist es, die Lebensqualität rheumakranker Kinder und Erwachsener zu verbessern, die Behandlung sicherer zu machen und politische Entscheidungsträger auf Lücken in der Versorgung aufmerksam zu machen. Grundlage sind große epidemiologische Studien, die langfristig und in enger Kooperation mit rund 500 Kinder- und Erwachsenenrheumatologen im ganzen Bundesgebiet durchgeführt werden.

pb3
pb3

Regenerative Rheumatologie

Der Programmbereich will Wege finden, um Gewebe zu regenerieren, das durch chronisch-degenerative Erkrankungen zerstört wurde. Es geht darum, die Biologie der knorpelbildenden Zellen besser zu verstehen und die Knorpelbildung so zu beeinflussen, dass in betroffenen Gelenken langfristig wieder stabiler Knorpel aufgebaut wird. Eine wichtige Rolle spielen dabei sogenannte therapeutische Oligonukleotide: Ihre Eignung zur Manipulation von Chondrozyten und ihren Vorläufern soll im Tiermodell getestet werden.

cf
cf

Technologieplattformen und Servicelabore

Das DRFZ betreibt in Zusammenarbeit mit seinen Partnern von der Charité und dem Max-Planck-Institut für Infektionsbiologie modernste Technologieplattformen zur Analyse einzelner Immunzellen und der sie umgebenden Zellen sowie deren Wechselwirkungen. In den sogenannten “Shared Resource Laboratories” (SRL) werden die Zellen identifiziert und isoliert, damit sie in molekularen und funktionellen Studien weiter analysiert und in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung beobachtet werden können. In den Servicelaboren erhalten Forschungsgruppen technologische und logistische Unterstützung – für standardisierte und qualitätskontrollierte Studien.