Home Research Central Laboratory

Central Laboratory

Service facility for experimental research

Introduction
Members

The Service Unit Central Laboratory of the DRFZ was founded in the year 2000. The lab managers provide services for all research groups, the main focus being on the supply of antibodies and their conjugates. Apart from this central task, the lab managers are also responsible for infrastructural aspects concerning the DRFZ such as the estimation and acquisition of financial contributions of the liaison groups to the DRFZ infrastructure, the ordering system regarding the supply with cell culture and general materials, management of general scientific equipment, including acquisition, calculation and service in collaboration with the administration of the DRFZ and the supply of groups with basic materials, chemicals and chemical solutions for working with cell cultures.

Antibodies

The team of lab managers working in the central laboratory focuses on the production and supply of more than 1000 substances. More than 250 antibody-producing hybridomas are cultivated. Specific antibodies are isolated from cell culture supernatants, purified and, if necessary, conjugated with various fluorochromes. Thus, the lab managers provide the basic supply with all relevant biological tools necessary for doing FACS analysis, cell sorting, histology, ELISA, and other immunological techniques.
The huge variety of antibodies and conjugates is accessible to scientists working at the DRFZ, the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, the Charité- Universitätsmedizin Berlin and in other collaborating groups. The intranet folder “OnlineAntibodiesManagement” offers information on the current quantity of samples available in the stock. Users are also provided with background information such as the name of the clone, concentration and titer, or with other data regarding the samples.

Service

On request, the lab managers also offer their advice and assistance in case of technical problems. All preparations go hand in hand with specific quality controls. Additionally, quality control of samples regarding mycoplasma and endotoxin contamination or DNA or RNA quality is offered by the lab managers.
The field of activity of the central laboratory also includes the introduction and establishment of new methods and techniques, in particular regarding new fluorochromatic markers.

Perspectives

The acquisition of further hybridomas for new scientific questions is essential. The fight against mycoplasma or endotoxin contamination has to be adapted continuously to state-of-the-art technology. The increasing use of multicolor techniques in FACS requires a continuous increase in the number of available fluorochromes, to provide enough substances with sufficient brightness, photo stability and narrow emission spectra in different combinations.

Team Leader Central Laboratory Dipl. Ing. Biotech. Katrin Lehmann Phone +49 30 28460-698 labmanager@drfz.de more
Group Leader
Continue to Members

Lab Manager
Dipl. Ing. Biotechnology Katrin Lehmann
Dr. rer. nat. Imme Sakwa-Waltz
Dr. Ing. Christin Kabus

Group Leader
Continue to Introduction

Startseite Forschung Zentrallabor

Zentrallabor

Serviceeinrichtung für die experimentelle Forschung

Inhalt
Mitarbeitende

Seit der Einrichtung des Zentrallabors im Jahre 2000 umfassen die Aufgaben Serviceleistungen für alle wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgruppen, wobei der Schwerpunkt in der Versorgung mit Antikörpern und ihren Konjugaten liegt. Darüber hinaus sind die Labmanagerinnen für vielfältige Bereiche der Infrastruktur des Institutes verantwortlich. Dazu gehört das Bestellwesen und die Versorgung der Gruppen mit allen elementaren Verbrauchsmaterialien, Chemikalien und Lösungen, das Management und die Verwaltung finanzieller Beiträge der Liasongruppen zur DRFZ-Infrastruktur und der allgemeinen wissenschaftlichen Geräte inklusive Anschaffung, Kalkulation und Service in Zusammenarbeit mit der Verwaltung.

Antikörper

Spezifische Antikörper und ihre Fluorochrom- Derivate sind in der experimentellen
zellbiologischen Forschung von zentraler Bedeutung. Inzwischen werden mehr als 1.000
solcher Substanzen von den Labmanagerinnen bereitgestellt. Mehr als 250 Antikörper-produzierende Hybridome werden am DRFZ vorgehalten. Die spezifischen Antikörper werden je nach Anforderung mit verschiedenen Fluorochromen z.B. für die Durchflusszytometrie konjugiert. Auf diese Weise ist die Grundversorgung mit allen relevanten biologischen Reagenzien, die für die FACS-Analyse, das Sortieren von Zellen, Histologie, ELISA und andere immunologische Techniken benötigt werden, garantiert.
Diese enorme Vielfalt von Antikörpern und Konjugaten ist jedem Mitglied des DRFZ, des
MPI, der Charité und anderen kollaborierenden Gruppen jederzeit zugänglich. Für diese umfangreiche Organisation steht das „Online Antibodies Management“ zur Verfügung.

Weitere Serviceleistungen

Die Labormanagerinnen stehen bei der Lösung technischer Probleme zur Verfügung, so z.B. bei der Isolierung und Reinigung von Proteinen, Fusionen oder Fragmentierung von Antikörpern und anderen Proteinen oder der Herstellung von spezifischen Affinitätsmatrices für chromatographische Zwecke. Alle Präparationen erfolgen qualitätskontrolliert. Zusätzlich wird die Qualitätskontrolle von Proben hinsichtlich Mykoplasmen- und Endotoxin-Kontamination oder DNA- bzw. RNA-Qualität angeboten. Der Aufgabenbereich des Zentrallabors umfasst auch die Einführung und Etablierung neuer Methoden und Techniken, insbesondere hinsichtlich neuer Fluorochrom-Markierungen.

Leitung Zentrallabor Dipl. Ing. Biotech. Katrin Lehmann Tel +49 30 28460-698 labmanager@drfz.de Zur Person
Weiter zu Mitarbeitende

Labormanagerinnen
Dipl. Ing. Biotech. Katrin Lehmann
Dr. phil. nat. Manuela Frese-Schaper
Dr. Ing. Christin Kabus

Weiter zu Inhalt
Seite drucken
Seite teilen
DRFZ NewsFlash abonnieren