Home About Us DRFZ at a glance

DRFZ at a glance

Mission

The DRFZ investigates the long‐term outcomes of rheumatic diseases, including the impact of current treatment options, in order to inform clinical decision making, identify unmet needs and improve health care. Biomedical research identifies the cells initiating and those driving rheumatic diseases, and the underlying molecular mechanisms. Our aim is the development of improved, personalised, at best curative therapies for patients with rheumatic diseases, and their rapid translation into clinical practice.

30 years DRFZ, Berlin

The DRFZ was founded 30 years ago by the State of Berlin, to whom it is deeply indebted for many years of generous support and constructive assistance. As the only non-university research institution in Germany for rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases, it has been part of the Leibniz Association since 2009 and has also received federal funding since then.

Prof. Andreas Radbruch:

Our aim is to develop an improved, personalised therapy for patients with rheumatic diseases and its rapid implementation into clinical practice.

Research at the DRFZ is divided into three thematic “programme areas“

  • Pathophysiology of Rheumatic Inflammation

In the programme area “Pathophysiology of Rheumatic Inflammation”, research groups concentrate on the identification and understanding of cells that cause and drive chronic rheumatic inflammation. These inflammatory conditions can affect all organs of the body, but it is unclear why one particular organ is affected and others are not. Therefore, we are investigating the cells that are the driving force of chronic inflammation. We now know that specific cells of the immune system play a decisive role: the lymphocytes. Lymphocytes protect us from pathogens and cancer. In patients with rheumatic inflammatory diseases, the precise distinction between “foreign” and “self” is impaired, and worse than this, the immune system actually memorizes the body’s structures as “an enemy” and develops an “immunological memory” against them. This memory for rheumatic inflammation is refractory to current therapies, and of course also to the body’s own immunoregulatory mechanisms that prevent immune reactions against healthy tissue. How these memory lymphocytes develop, how they are maintained in the long run, and why they are resistant to current treatments are questions being investigated in this programme area.“

  • Regenerative Rheumatology

Since 2015, the new programme area “Regenerative Rheumatology” complements the biomedical research focus of the DRFZ, initially with two research groups. They concentrate on the most common rheumatic disease, osteoarthritis, in which the cartilage tissue of the joints is damaged. While one group is looking for ways to control cartilage formation by chondrocytes in the joint, the other group is developing novel methods to therapeutically manipulate chondrocytes. Both working groups work closely together with the working groups of the programme area “Pathophysiology of Rheumatic Inflammation”. On the one hand, many patients with osteoarthritis have secondary inflammations that affect cartilage damage. On the other hand, methods for the regeneration of cartilage tissue and joints are also important in the treatment of primarily inflammatory rheumatic joint diseases.

  • Epidemiology and Health Services Research

The programme area “Epidemiology and Health Services Research” has the overarching task of investigating clinically important questions in rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases using epidemiological methods in order to improve the care and quality of life of people with rheumatic diseases.
The four working groups in this area focus on clinical epidemiology and health care research.
Central data collection focuses on which biological, clinical and environmental factors contribute to the occurrence and progression of diseases; how safe and effective new therapies are in the long run for children and adults; and what are the care needs and quality of care for people with rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases.

Prof. Angela Zink:

Research is dependent on the data provided by rheumatologists; conversely, the epidemiological studies at the DRFZ make a contribution to improving medical care.

The programme area is in close contact with more than 500 rheumatological practices and clinics throughout Germany. Currently, nine different registries and cohort studies are being conducted, involving more than 50,000 patients. The cooperation is a win-win situation for both sides: Research depends on obtaining data on the clinical situation and disease experience of physicians and patients. The results of the epidemiological studies are reflected back into practice and support clinical decision making and health care planning.

DRFZ – Charité

The close connection to the Charité is an essential element of the DRFZ.
The Charité and the DRFZ not only share joint research infrastructures, they are also connected by seven professorships and twelve joint liaison research Groups.

Liaison-research groups

“Liaison research groups” are an instrument developed by the DRFZ that gives clinicians and basic researchers from partner institutions such as the Charité, the opportunity to conduct research at the DRFZ. The liaison research groups are co-financed to varying degrees by the partner institution and the DRFZ. This provides these groups with research space and access to the infrastructure and technology platforms of the DRFZ.

Since mid-2016, the joint Leibniz ScienceCampus Chronic Inflammation connects the DRFZ and the Charité. It is a new cornerstone of the interaction between Charité and DRFZ.
The Leibniz Association, the Charité and the DRFZ jointly finance the ScienceCampus. It is based on the scientific concept of comparing inflammatory rheumatic diseases and chronic inflammation of other organs, such as the nervous system, skin, kidneys and intestines; defining similarities and differences, and then transferring therapeutic concepts from one disease to another.Please find more here

Research funding

Research at the DRFZ is funded by the Berlin Senate Administration for Science and Research, the Leibniz Association, the German Research Foundation (DFG), the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the European Research Council and the European Commission, industry consortia and other third-party donors.
Private foundations such as the Willy Robert Pitzer Foundation, the Rheumastiftung, the Dr. Rolf M. Schwiete Foundation and bequests are an increasingly important pillar of research funding at the DRFZ. Each of these foundations supports a particularly outstanding research group in an outstanding manner, thereby shaping the profile of the DRFZ.

The common aim of all DRFZ scientists is to carry out research which leads to a better understanding of rheumatic diseases, so that patients can be treated more specifically, resulting in a better quality of life.

Startseite Über Uns DRFZ im Portrait

DRFZ im Portrait

Aufgaben & Ziele

Das Deutsche Rheuma-Forschungszentrum Berlin, ein Institut der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, untersucht mit grundlagenwissenschaftlichen und epidemiologischen Methoden die Entstehungsbedingungen und Folgen rheumatischer und muskuloskelettaler Erkrankungen. Die biomedizinische Forschung an unserem Institut identifiziert die Zellen, die rheumatische Erkrankungen auslösen und aufrechterhalten. Sie untersucht die zugrunde liegenden molekularen Mechanismen, um Ansätze für ein Eingreifen zu finden. Die epidemiologische Forschung analysiert Risikofaktoren und Langzeitauswirkungen rheumatischer Erkrankungen im Kindes- und Erwachsenenalter und die Angemessenheit der Versorgung. Die Ergebnisse finden Eingang in die klinische Entscheidungsfindung und die Versorgungsplanung.

30 Jahre Deutsches Rheuma-Forschungszentrum Berlin

Das DRFZ wurde vor 30 Jahren durch das Land Berlin gegründet, dem es für die vielen Jahre der großzügigen Unterstützung und konstruktiven Begleitung zu großem Dank verpflichtet ist. Als einzige außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtung in Deutschland zu rheumatischen und muskuloskelettalen Erkrankungen gehört es seit 2009 zur Leibniz-Gemeinschaft und erhält seitdem auch Förderung durch den Bund.

Prof. Andreas Radbruch:

Unser Ziel ist die Entwicklung einer verbesserten, personalisierten Therapie für Patienten mit rheumatischen Erkrankungen und deren schnelle Umsetzung in die klinische Praxis.

Die Forschung am DRFZ gliedert sich in drei themenbezogene „Programmbereiche“

  • Rheumatische Entzündung

Im Programmbereich „Pathophysiologie rheumatischer Entzündungen“ konzentrieren sich die Arbeitsgruppen auf die Identifizierung und das Verständnis der Zellen, die Entzündungen verursachen und chronische rheumatische Entzündungen antreiben. Diese Entzündungen können alle Organe des Menschen betreffen, aber es ist unklar, warum ein bestimmtes Organ betroffen ist, andere aber nicht. Um das herauszufinden, suchen wir nach den Zellen, die tatsächlich die treibende Kraft hinter einer chronischen Entzündung sind. Mittlerweile wissen wir, dass bestimmte Zellen des Immunsystems eine entscheidende Rolle spielen, die Lymphozyten. Lymphozyten schützen uns eigentlich vor Krankheitserregern und Krebs. Bei Patientinnen und Patienten mit rheumatisch-entzündlichen Krankheiten funktioniert die präzise Unterscheidung von „fremd“ und „selbst“ nicht mehr, schlimmer noch, das Immunsystem prägt sich die körpereigenen Strukturen als Feindbild ein und entwickelt ein „immunologisches Gedächtnis“ dagegen. Dieses Gedächtnis für die rheumatische Entzündung ist resistent gegen die heute eingesetzten Therapien, und natürlich auch gegen die körpereigenen immunregulatorischen Mechanismen, die Immunreaktionen gegen gesundes körpereigenes Gewebe verhindern. Wie diese Gedächtnislymphozyten entstehen, wie sie über lange Zeiträume erhalten bleiben, und warum sie resistent gegen heutige Behandlungsmethoden sind, wird in diesem Programmbereich erforscht.

  • Regenerative Rheumatologie

Seit 2015 ergänzt der neue Programmbereich „Regenerative Rheumatologie“ das biomedizinische Forschungsspektrum des DRFZ, mit zunächst zwei Forschungsgruppen. Sie beschäftigen sich mit der häufigsten rheumatischen Erkrankung, der Arthrose, bei der das Knorpelgewebe der Gelenke beschädigt ist. Während eine Arbeitsgruppe nach Möglichkeiten, Knorpelbildung durch Chondrozyten im Gelenk zu steuern sucht, entwickelt die andere Gruppe neuartige Verfahren, um die Chondrozyten therapeutisch zu beeinflussen. Beide Arbeitsgruppen arbeiten eng mit den Arbeitsgruppen des Entzündungsbereiches zusammen. Einerseits haben viele Betroffene mit Arthrose sekundäre Entzündungen, die die Knorpelschädigung beeinflussen. Andererseits sind Methoden zur Regeneration von Knorpelgewebe und Gelenken auch wichtig bei der Behandlung von primär entzündlichen rheumatischen Gelenkerkrankungen.

  • Epidemiologie

Der Programmbereich „Epidemiologie und Versorgungsforschung“ hat die übergreifende Aufgabe, klinisch bedeutsame Fragestellungen bei rheumatischen und muskuloskelettalen Erkrankungen mit epidemiologischen Methoden zu untersuchen Ziel ist es, die Versorgung und die Lebensqualität von Menschen mit rheumatischen Erkrankungen zu verbessern.
Zentrale Datenerhebungen drehen sich darum, welche biologischen, klinischen und Umwelt-Faktoren zum Auftreten und Fortschreiten der Krankheiten beitragen, wie sicher und effektiv neue Therapien bei Kindern und Erwachsenen auf Dauer sind, und wie der Versorgungsbedarf und die Qualität der Versorgung bei Personen mit rheumatischen und muskuloskelettalen Erkrankungen sind.

Prof. Angela Zink:

Die Forschung ist auf die von den Rheumatologen bereitgestellten Daten angewiesen, umgekehrt tragen die epidemiologischen Studien am DRFZ zur Verbesserung der medizinischen Versorgung bei.

Der Programmbereich steht in engem Kontakt mit mehr als 500 rheumatologischen Praxen und Kliniken in ganz Deutschland. Derzeit werden neun verschiedene Register und Kohortenstudien durchgeführt, an denen mehr als 50.000 Patienten beteiligt sind. Die Zusammenarbeit ist ein Gewinn für beide Seiten: Die Forschung ist darauf angewiesen, Daten zur klinischen Situation und zum Krankheitserleben von Ärzten und Patienten zu erhalten. Die Ergebnisse der epidemiologischen Studien werden in die Praxis zurückgespiegelt und unterstützen die klinische Entscheidungsfindung sowie die Versorgungsplanung.

DRFZ – Charité

Die enge Anbindung an die Charité ist ein Wesensmerkmal des DRFZ.
Die Charité und das DRFZ betreiben nicht nur gemeinsame Forschungsinfrastrukturen, sie sind auch durch sieben Professuren und zwölf gemeinsame Liaison-Forschungsgruppen miteinander verzahnt

Was sind Liaison-Gruppen?

“Liaison-Gruppen” sind ein vom DRFZ entwickeltes Instrument, das Klinikern und Grundlagenforschern von Partnerinstitutionen wie der Charité die Möglichkeit gibt, am DRFZ zu forschen. Die Liaison-Gruppen werden in unterschiedlichem Umfang durch die Partnerinstitution und das DRFZ co-finanziert. Damit erhalten diese Gruppen Forschungsraum und Zugang zur Infrastruktur und Technologie-Plattformen des DRFZ.

Seit Mitte 2016 verbindet das DRFZ und die Charité der gemeinsame Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus Chronische Entzündung. Er ist ein neuer Eckpfeiler der Interaktion von Charité und DRFZ.
Die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, die Charité und das DRFZ finanzieren dieses Forschungszentrum gemeinsam. Es basiert auf dem wissenschaftlichen Konzept, entzündlich-rheumatische Erkrankungen und chronische Entzündungen anderer Organe, so des Nervensystems, der Haut, der Nieren, und des Darmes zu vergleichen, Ähnlichkeiten und Unterschiede zu definieren, um dann Therapiekonzepte gezielt von einer Krankheit auf eine andere zu übertragen.
Mehr finden Sie hier

Ohne Forschungsförderung geht es nicht

Die Forschungsarbeiten am DRFZ werden durch finanzielle Unterstützung der Senatsverwaltung für Wissenschaft und Forschung des Landes Berlin, der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), des Europäischen Forschungsrates und der Europäischen Kommission, Industrie-Konsortien und anderer Drittmittelgeber ermöglicht.
Ein zunehmend wichtiges Standbein der Forschungsförderung am DRFZ sind private Stiftungen wie die Willy Robert Pitzer Stiftung, die Rheumastiftung, die Dr. Rolf M. Schwiete Stiftung und Nachlässe. Jede dieser Stiftungen unterstützt in herausragender Weise eine besonders hervorragende Forschungsgruppe, und prägt so das Profil des DRFZ.

Gemeinsames Ziel aller DRFZ Wissenschaftler ist es, mit ihren Forschungen zu einem besseren Verständnis rheumatischer Erkrankungen beizutragen, damit diese gezielt und schonend behandelt werden können.