Avrion Mitchison

Founding Director, 1989 - 1996

First Scientific Director of the DRFZ

Avrion Mitchison from London became the first scientific director of the DRFZ in 1989. During a time of changes in the early years of German reunification, he helped the newly founded DRFZ to gain international prominence. As an internationally recognized expert in immunological tolerance, immune regulation and immunogenetics, he established the research field of immunology of rheumatic diseases.

Avrion Mitchison:

Creative ldeas and elegant experiments not only make the scientist's work exciting, but they are also the essential logical starting point for advances in the treatment and prevention of disease.

Scientific research

As a PhD student, Avrion Mitchison studied how immune cells behave during transplantation. He showed that immune cells with antibody-like properties, rather than antibodies themselves, are responsible for transplant rejection. He thus identified the cellular basis of the immune system’s violent reaction against transplant antigens – a major problem in organ transplantation.

Soon after, the cooperation of antibody-producing B lymphocytes and T lymphocytes, which mediate cellular immunity, was described. Mitchison showed that the immune system can respond to different amounts of a foreign antigen – e.g. an infection or a transplant – with positive, i.e. eliminating and rejecting, or with negative, i.e. suppressing immune reactions. He recognized that B and T lymphocytes have different structures, so-called haptens and carriers, on the antigens foreign to them.

In chronic inflammatory diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis, it is precisely these reactions of the immune system that are directed against the body’s own structures. Mitchison thus brought decisive experience in researching rheumatic diseases to the DRFZ. In a completely new approach at the time, he transferred findings on the immune system’s handling of pathogens to the mechanisms underlying rheumatic inflammation. He thus defined the goal of research at the DRFZ: the development of novel, preferably curative therapies by eliminating the causative dysregulations of the immune system.

Avrion Mitchison is considered one of the fathers of modern immunology.

Academic career 

Avrion Mitchison (*1928) studied zoology at Oxford University, where he received his doctorate in 1952 under the supervision of Sir Peter B. Medawar, who later won the Nobel Prize. After a research stay in the USA, he headed a research group at the National Institute for Medical Research in London and was Jodrell Professor of Zoology and Comparative Anatomy at University College London from 1971 to 1991.

In 1989, Avrion Mitchison accepted the appointment as the first Scientific Director of the DRFZ Berlin.

After his retirement at the end of 1996, Avrion Mitchison went back to the Medical School of University College in London. Today he is Professor Emeritus there and lives in London.

Print
Share
Sign up for the
DRFZ NewsFlash

Avrion Mitchison

Gründungsdirektor, 1989 - 1996

Der erste Wissenschaftliche Direktor des DRFZ

Avrion Mitchison wird 1989 erster wissenschaftlicher Direktor des DRFZ. Der Zoologe wurde aus London nach Berlin berufen. In einer Zeit des Umbruchs in den ersten Jahren der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands verhilft er dem gerade neu gegründeten DRFZ zu internationaler Bekanntheit. Als anerkannter Experte für immunologische Toleranz, Immunregulation und Immungenetik etabliert er das Forschungsfeld Immunologie rheumatischer Erkrankungen.

Avrion Mitchison:

Kreative ldeen und elegante Experimente machen nicht nur die Arbeit des Wissenschaftlers aufregend, sondern sie sind zugleich der unverzichtbare logische Ausgangspunkt für Fortschritte in der Behandlung und Prävention von Krankheit.

Das wissenschaftliche Werk

Als Doktorand studierte Avrion Mitchison, wie sich Immunzellen bei Transplantationen verhalten. Er zeigte, dass nicht Antikörper selbst, sondern Immunzellen mit antikörper-ähnlichen Eigenschaften für die Abstoßung von Transplantaten verantwortlich sind. Er erkannte damit die zelluläre Grundlage der heftigen Reaktion des Immunsystems gegen Transplantationsantigene – ein großes Problem bei Organtransplantationen.

Bald darauf wurde die Zusammenarbeit von Antikörper-produzierenden B-Lymphozyten und T Lymphozyten, welche die zelluläre Immunität vermitteln, beschrieben. Mitchison zeigte dabei, dass das Immunsystem auf unterschiedliche Mengen eines fremden Antigens – z.B. eines Infekts oder eines Transplantats – mit positiven, d.h eliminierenden und abstossenden, oder auch mit negativen, d.h supprimierenden Immunreaktionen antworten kann. Dabei erkannte er, dass B- und T Lymphozyten unterschiedliche Strukturen, sogenannte
Haptene und Carrier, auf den ihnen fremden Antigenen erkennen.

Bei chronisch-entzündlichen Erkrankungen wie der rheumatoiden Arthritis richten sich eben diese Reaktionen des Immunsystems gegen körpereigene Strukturen. Mitchison brachte somit entscheidende Erfahrung zur Erforschung von rheumatischen Erkrankungen mit ans DRFZ. In einer damals völlig neuen Herangehensweise übertrug er Erkenntnisse über den Umgang des Immunsystems mit Krankheitserregern auf die Mechanismen, die rheumatischen Entzündungen zu Grunde liegen. Damit definierte er das Ziel der Forschung am DRFZ: die Entwicklung neuartiger, möglichst heilender Therapien durch Beseitigung der ursächlichen Fehlsteuerungen des Immunsystems.

Avrion Mitchison gilt als einer der Väter der modernen Immunologie.

Akademischer Werdegang

Avrion Mitchison (*1928) studierte Zoologie an der Universität Oxford, wo er 1952 bei dem späteren Nobelpreisträger Sir Peter B. Medawar promovierte. Nach einem Forschungsaufenthalt in den USA leitete er eine Forschergruppe am National Institute for Medical Research in London und war von 1971 bis 1991 Jodrell Professor of Zoology and Comparative Anatomy am University College London.

1989 nahm Avrion Mitchison den Ruf als erster Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des DRFZ Berlin an.

Nach seinem Ruhestand Ende 1996 ging Avrion Mitchison zurück an die Medical School des University College in London. Heute ist er dort Professor Emeritus und lebt in London.

Seite drucken
Seite teilen
DRFZ NewsFlash abonnieren