Startseite Über uns Köpfe Prof. Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Ahmed N. Hegazy
Prof. Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Ahmed N. Hegazy


Prof. Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Ahmed N. Hegazy

Medizinischen Klinik mit Schwerpunkt Gastroenterologie, Infektiologie und Rheumatologie
Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Campus Benjamin Franklin
Hindenburgdamm 30
12203 Berlin

Charite Homepage:
Tel: +49-30-450 514 343

CV - Akademischer Werdegang und Schlüsselpublikationen (nur auf Englisch verfügbar)

Scientific Career
  • Since 05.2018 W2 Professor of Translational Gastroenterology (Lichtenberg Professorship) at Department of Gastroenterology, Infectiology and Rheumatology, CBF, Charité–University Medicine Berlin, Germany
  • Since 2017 Internal Medicine Resident and Group Leader, Department of Gastroenterology, Infectiology and Rheumatology, Charité–University Medicine Berlin, Germany
  • 2012 – 2017 Postdoctoral Researcher, Translational Gastroenterology Unit,
    Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • 2010 – 2012 Internal Medicine Resident, Department of Gastroenterology, Charite, Berlin
  • 2006 – 2007 Research residence as part of Ph.D. training at the Institute of Experimental Immunology, University Hospital Zürich, Switzerland
  • 2005 – 2010 DPhil (Ph.D.) Student at the Cell Biology Section at the DRFZ, Germany Mentor: Prof. Andreas Radbruch and Prof. Max Löhning
  • 2002 – 2005 M.D. Thesis (Dr. med.) at the Department of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology, Hannover Medical School, Germany Supervisor: Prof. Christoph Klein
  • 2012 Doctor of Philosophy in Immunology (Dr. rer. nat.); Excellent “summa cum laude”
  • 2010 Doctor of Medicine (Dr. med.) Grade: Excellent “summa cum laude”
  • 2007 Approbation, License to practise medicine, Germany
  • 2005 Bachelor of Medicine, Hannover Medical School (MHH), Germany
  • 1998 – 2004 Medical studies at Hannover Medical School, Germany
  • 1996 – 1998 Medical studies at Faculty of Medicine, Cairo University, Egypt
  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Immunologie
  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Gastroenterologie, Verdauungs- und Stoffwechselkrankheiten
  • British Society for Immunology
  • European Crohn´s and Colitis Organisation
  • 2018 BIH Clinical Scientist Grant, Berlin Institute of Health
  • 2017 Robert-Koch Postdoctoral Prize in the field of immunology, Robert-Koch Foundation
  • 2017 Election to the Arab-German Young Academy of Sciences and Humanities (AGYA), Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
  • 2017 BIH Junior Clinical Scientist Grant, Berlin Institute of Health
  • 2017 Successful Lichtenberg Professorship application, Volkswagen Foundation
  • 2014 – 2016 EC Marie Curie Actions-Intra-European Fellowship for career development
  • 2013 – 2014 EMBO Long-Term Fellowship for postdoctoral research
  • 2012 Feodor Lynen Research Fellowship, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (declined)
  • 2011 Dissertation Award for Tumour Research, Hannover Medical School
  • 2010 Poster prize, 40th Annual Meeting of German Society for Immunology (DGfI), Leipzig
  • 2010 Travel award, 14th International Congress of Immunology, Kansai, Japan
  • 2010 Poster prize, World Immune Regulation Meeting-IV, Davos, Switzerland
  • 2005 – 2008 PhD studentship, DFG Research Training Group 1121 „Genetic and Immunologic Determinants of Pathogen-Host-Interactions“, German Research Council (DFG)
  • 2005 Travel award, 47th American Society of Hematology Annual Meeting, Atlanta, USA
  • 2001 – 2002 M.D. Scholarship, Cancer Sick Children Foundation Project: „Immunity of a BCR-positive acute lymphoblastic Leukemia”
Third Party Funding
  • 2018 – 2022 Teilprojekt A05, Collaborative Research Center CRC/TRR 241, DFG (€278,580)
  • 2018 – 2023 Lichtenberg Professorship application, Volkswagen Foundation (€1.65M)
  • 2017 – 2019 BIH Junior Clinical Scientist Grant, Berlin Institute of Health (€14,000/year)
Key Publications
  1. Hegazy* A.N., West* N.R., Stubbington, M.J.T., Wendt E., Suijker, K., Datsi, A., This, S., Danne, C., Campion, S., Duncan, S.H., Owens, B.M.J., Uhlig, H.H., McMichael, A., Oxford IBD Cohort Investigators, 
Bergthaler, A., Teichmann, S.A., Keshav, S., Powrie, F., 2017. Gut Microbiota Induce Local And Systemic CD4 T Cell Responses In Healthy Individuals That Are Altered In Inflammatory Bowel Diseases. Gastroenterology 153(5):1320-1337  (*shared first-authorship)
  2. West NR*, Hegazy AN*, Owens BMJ, Bullers SJ, Linggi B, Buonocore S, Coccia M, Görtz D, This S, Stockenhuber K, Pott J, Friedrich M, Ryzhakov G, Baribaud F, Brodmerkel C, Cieluch C, Rahman N, Müller-Newen G, Owens RJ, Kühl AA, Maloy KJ, Plevy SE; Oxford IBD Cohort Investigators, Keshav S, Travis SPL, Powrie F. 2017. Oncostatin M drives intestinal inflammation and predicts response to tumor necrosis factor-neutralizing therapy in patients with inflammatory bowel disease. Nat Med. 23(5):579-589. (*shared first-authorship)
  3. Bhattacharya A*, Hegazy AN*, Deigendesch N, Kosack L, Cupovic J, Kandasamy RK, Hildebrandt A, Merkler D, Kühl AA, Vilagos B, Schliehe C, Panse I, Khamina K, Baazim H, Arnold I, Flatz L, Xu HC, Lang PA, Aderem A, Takaoka A, Superti-Furga G, Colinge J, Ludewig B, Löhning M, Bergthaler A. (2015). Superoxide Dismutase 1 Protects Hepatocytes from Type I Interferon-Driven Oxidative Damage. Immunity. 43:974–986. (*shared first-authorship)
  4. Arnold IC, Mathisen S, Schulthess J, Danne C, Hegazy AN, Powrie F. (2016). CD11c(+) monocyte/ macrophages promote chronic Helicobacter hepaticus-induced intestinal inflammation through the production of IL-23. Mucosal Immunology. 9:352–363.
  5. Schiering C, Krausgruber T, Chomka A, Fröhlich A, Adelmann K, Wohlfert EA,Pott J,Griseri T, Boll-rath J, Hegazy AN, Harrison OJ, Owens BMJ, Löhning M, Belkaid Y, Fallon PG, Powrie F. (2014). The alarmin IL-33 promotes regulatory T-cell function in the intestine. Nature. 513:564–568.
  6. Flatz L, Hegazy AN*, Bergthaler A*, Verschoor A*, Claus C, Fernandez M, Gattinoni L, Johnson S, Kreppel F, Kochanek S, Broek MVD, Radbruch A, Lévy F, Lambert P-H, Siegrist C-A, Restifo NP, Löhning M, Ochsenbein AF, Nabel GJ, Pinschewer DD. (2010). Development of replication-defective lymphocytic choriomeningitis virus vectors for the induction of potent CD8+ T cell immunity. Nat Med. 16:339–345. (*equal contribution)
  7. Hegazy AN, Peine M, Helmstetter C, Panse I, Fröhlich A, Bergthaler A, Flatz L, Pinschewer DD, Radbruch A, Löhning M. (2010). Interferons direct Th2 cell reprogramming to generate a stable GATA-3+T-bet+ cell subset with combined Th2 and Th1 cell functions. Immunity. 32:116–128.
  8. Tokoyoda, K, Zehentmeier S, Hegazy AN, Albrecht I, Grün JR, Löhning M, Radbruch A. (2009). Professional memory CD4+ T lymphocytes preferentially reside and rest in the bone marrow. Immunity. 30:721–730.
  9. Hegazy AN, Klein C. (2008). Ex vivo priming of CD4 T cells converts immunological tolerance into effective antitumor immunity in a murine model of acute lymphoblastic leukemia. Leukemia. 22:2070–2079.
  10. Löhning, M, Hegazy AN, Pinschewer DD, Busse D, Lang KS, Höfer T, Radbruch A, Zinkernagel RM, Hengartner H. (2008). Long-lived virus-reactive memory T cells generated from purified cytokine-secreting T helper type 1 and type 2 effectors. J Exp Med. 205:53–61.
AG Hegazy
Darmflora kann chronische Entzündungen hervorrufen
Seite drucken
Seite teilen
DRFZ NewsFlash abonnieren