Home Research Topics Paediatric Rheumatology

Paediatric Rheumatology

Rheumatism is also present in young people

Optimal care for young people

The working group paediatric rheumatology examines approaches to further improve the care situation of children, adolescents and young adults suffering from rheumatic diseases. The foundation for this is the documentation and evaluation of processes and results of rheumatological care as well as the investigation of the clinical, psychosocial and economic consequences of rheumatic diseases under real care conditions.

How quickly do affected adolescents reach a rheumatologist after disease onset? Which drugs are prescribed at the beginning and during the course of the disease? Which comorbidities occur frequently during the course of the disease? How do affected young people deal with their disease?

Three large nationwide cohort studies form the foundation of our research activities:

National Paediatric Rheumatologic Database

The National Paediatric Rheumatologic Database (NPRD) has been providing nationwide data on processes and outcomes of rheumatological care for over 20 years. With currently more than 60 participating paediatric rheumatological centers, the number of children and adolescents with rheumatoid arthritis (Juvenile idiopathic arthritis, JIA), vascular diseases (vasculitis) and other inflammatory rheumatic diseases recorded annually is almost 14,000. According to prevalence estimates, the NPRD thus covers a large part of all cases of childhood rheumatism expected in Germany.

In addition, the documentation is used for focus questions, which are yearly added as special additional modules or implemented topics. In the past, these included topics such as health behavior, readiness to make the transition to adult care (transition) or participation in physical activities (including participation in school sports).

With the help of the comprehensively available data on individual childhood and adolescent rheumatic diseases, their everyday effects and the benefits of treatment, we were able to show that adolescents with JIA have a higher burden of disease and a higher risk of an inactive lifestyle, obesity and other comorbidities than younger children.

Web-based entry also possible

By the end of 2016, data collection in the NPRD was realized on a paper-and-pencil basis. Since January 2017, the participating sites have been offered a web-based platform in cooperation with Heidelberg University Children’s Hospital. The documentation is provided under the acronym KRhOKo (Kinderrheumatologie Online Kerndokumentation).

Connected projects

Currently, the web-based platform KRhOKo is also being used as part of COACH (Chronic Conditions in Adolescents: Implementation and Evaluation of Patient-centred Collaborative Healthcare), an interdisciplinary research network investigating the frequency of mental health problems in young rheumatics. The web-based platform KRhOKo is also used to collect data within the Innovationsfond-funded collaborative project ProKind (projects for classification, monitoring and therapy in paediatric rheumatology). ProKind investigates the treatment of newly diagnosed children and adolescents with rheumatoid arthritis and connective tissue diseases, what the treatment outcome is and whether current recommendations of the German Society for Child Rheumatology (GKJR) are being followed.

Also linked to the Kinder-KD and KRhOKo, respectively, is the collaborative project TARISMA, which was launched this year and is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The aim of this project is to identify risk factors for inadequate care of patients with rheumatic and non-inflammatory diseases of the musculoskeletal system and to consecutively develop approaches for improved care. The subproject ActiMON aims at assessing the physical activity as important precursor of adult morbidity in adolescents and young adults with different juvenile RMD (i.e., juvenile idiopathic arthritis, juvenile systemic lupus erythematosus and juvenile dermatomyositis). Physician- and patient-reported information on the young people ́s physical activity and health are provided by the NPRD. In subgroups of patients with the individual diseases, physical activity and sedentary behavior patterns will be assessed by accelerometry-based wearable motion detectors. The main objectives of ActiMON are to generate reliable information on physical activity and sedentary behavior patterns and to identify risk groups of patients with an inactive lifestyle. By revealing hurdles to an active lifestyle, measures can be developed to counteract comorbidities and adverse outcomes later in life.

JIA inception cohort ICON

Another important data source of our research is the BMBF-funded JIA inception cohort ICON (Inception Cohort Of Newly diagnosed patients with juvenile idiopathic arthritis), in which the development of more than 950 children, adolescents and young adults with JIA and about 500 healthy peers is being observed since 2010. The survey is being conducted at eleven paediatric rheumatological sites throughout Germany. The main goal is to gain a better understanding of the course of disease and the consequences of JIA.

Many of the affected children and adolescents achieved a symptom-free status within a short time. However, the symptom-free phase was different in length for every patient and was not always long-lasting. For over three quarters of the children and young people the rheumatic disease had already come to a standstill in the first year of treatment, at the end of the 2nd year however approximately 40% showed a moderate and/or high disease activity again.

Within the first two years of observation, the use of anti-inflammatory and analgesic drugs was significantly reduced. After 24 months, every 4th child with an inactive disease status no longer needed any medication at all. Two thirds of the patients received disease-modifying drugs. Our research group could also show that sociodemographic and clinical parameters such as age at disease onset, JIA category, time between onset of symptoms and first visit to a rheumatologist as well as higher familial burden are significant factors influencing the course of the disease.

JuMBO

The third fundamental instrument of our research is the JuMBO Register (Juvenile Arthritis-Methotrexate-Biologics long-term Observation), which since 2007 provides important information on the long-term safety of DMARDs (disease-modifying drugs) and long-term outcome in patients with JIA. In JuMBO, currently more than 1,700 young adults who developed JIA in childhood and were listed in the BiKeR children’s biologics registry (study director: Prof. Dr. Horneff, St. Augustin) are being monitored. Medical documentation is provided by more than 400 rheumatological practices and outpatient clinics as well as general practitioners and orthopedic sites.

Due to the treatment options with biologics, the drug therapy of patients with JIA has changed significantly over the last 20 years. Approximately two thirds of the participants have reached a status of remission or minimal disease activity. While most of them continue to rely on drug therapy, one in eight patients no longer requires any medication.

Transition as another research focus

Another research focus of the Minden lab is the so-called transition, which describes the transfer of adolescents and young adults with chronic diseases from child-centered to adult-oriented health care. An essential prerequisite for a successful transition of young rheumatics into adult medicine is the acquisition of adequate transition competence, i.e. sufficient knowledge of the disease, self-management skills and willingness to transfer. A successful transition process should therefore be based on agreed materials and at the same time be patient-oriented. Not only in rheumatology does this transition not yet succeed optimally: According to scientific studies, about one third of those affected drop out of drug treatment at this point.

With the help of the NPRD it can be determined, which sources of information young rheumatics know and how good their knowledge and their preparation for the change into adult medicine are. In order to facilitate the transition into adult care, the research group develops support services and information materials for young adults with rheumatic diseases in close cooperation with the Deutsche Rheuma-Liga. This work is based on transition projects funded by the German Federal Ministry of Health (BMG), whose scientific monitoring and evaluation has been and is being carried out by our working group in close cooperation with the Deutsche Rheuma-Liga.

According to data from the NPRD, the willingness to transition to adult care and the disease-specific knowledge of young people with JIA has meanwhile been expanded. The participation in a transition weekend camp, which lastingly expanded the disease knowledge and self-management of young rheumatics, also played a significant role in this. In general, the offers of support were accepted very positively, but they were still far too little known to both the affected patients and the group of people treating them. Consequently, still existing deficits make further efforts necessary.

 

Kooperationspartner
Print
Share

Further research topics

Startseite Forschungsthemen Kinder- und Jugendrheumatologie

Kinder- und Jugendrheumatologie

Rheuma gibt es auch bei jungen Menschen

Junge Menschen optimal versorgen

Die Arbeitsgruppe Kinder- und Jugendrheumatologie untersucht Ansätze, die zur weiteren Verbesserung der Versorgungssituation rheumakranker Kinder, Jugendlicher und junger Erwachsener dienen. Die Grundlage hierfür ist die Erfassung und Bewertung von Prozessen und Ergebnissen der rheumatologischen Versorgung sowie die Untersuchung der medizinischen, psychosozialen und ökonomischen Folgen rheumatischer Erkrankungen unter realen Versorgungsbedingungen.

Wie schnell erreichen betroffene Heranwachsende nach Ausbruch der Erkrankung einen Rheumatologen? Welche Medikamente werden zu Beginn und im weiteren Verlauf der Erkrankung verordnet? Welche Begleiterkrankungen können im Krankheitsverlauf häufig auftreten? Wie gehen erkrankte Heranwachsende mit Ihrer Erkrankung um?

Wesentliche Instrumente und somit das Fundament unserer Forschungstätigkeit bilden drei große bundesweite Kohortenstudien:

Die Kerndokumentation rheumakranker Kinder und Jugendlicher

Die Kerndokumentation rheumakranker Kinder und Jugendlicher (Kinder-KD) liefert seit über 20 Jahren bundesweite Daten über Prozesse und Ergebnisse der rheumatologischen Versorgung. Mit aktuell über 60 teilnehmenden kinderrheumatologischen Einrichtungen beträgt die Zahl jährlich erfasster Kinder und Jugendlicher mit Gelenkrheuma (Juvenile idiopathische Arthritis, JIA), Gefäßerkrankungen (Vaskulitiden) und weiteren entzündlich-rheumatischen Erkrankungen knapp 14.000. Prävalenzschätzungen zufolge, deckt sie damit einen Großteil aller in Deutschland erwarteten Fälle kindlichen Rheumas ab.

Darüber hinaus wird die Dokumentation für spezielle Fragestellungen genutzt, d. h. um spezielle Zusatzmodule oder implementierte Themenblöcke jahrweise ergänzt. Zu diesen zählten in der Vergangenheit Themen wie Gesundheitsverhalten, Bereitschaft zum Übergang in die Erwachsenenversorgung (Transition) oder auch die Teilnahme an körperlichen Aktivitäten (u.a. Schulsportteilnahme).

Mithilfe der umfassend vorliegenden Daten zu einzelnen rheumatischen Erkrankungen des Kindes- und Jugendalters, zu deren alltäglichen Auswirkungen und zum Behandlungsnutzen konnten wir zeigen, dass Jugendliche mit JIA eine höhere Krankheitslast und ein höheres Risiko für einen inaktiven Lebensstil, Übergewicht und andere Komorbiditäten haben als jüngere Kinder.

Erfassung auch webbasiert möglich

Bis Ende 2016 wurde die Datenerhebung für die Kinder-KD über eine Paper- und Pencil Version realisiert. Seit Januar 2017 wird den beteiligten Einrichtungen in Kooperation mit der Universitätskinderklinik Heidelberg eine webbasierte Plattform angeboten. Die Dokumentation läuft unter dem Akronym KRhOKo (Kinderrheumatologie Online Kerndokumentation).

Verknüpfte Projekte

Unter Verwendung der webbasierten Plattform KRhOKo wird derzeit außerdem im Rahmen des interdisziplinären Forschungsnetzwerks COACH (Chronic Conditions in Adolescents: Implementation and Evaluation of Patient-centred Collaborative Healthcare) die Häufigkeit von psychischen Gesundheitsproblemen bei jungen Rheumatikern untersucht.

Auch für das vom Innovationsfond geförderte Verbundvorhaben ProKind (Projekte zur Klassifikation, Überwachung und Therapie in der Kinderrheumatologie) erfolgt die Erfassung der Daten über die webbasierte Plattform KRhOKo. In ProKind wird untersucht, wie neu erkrankte Kinder und Jugendliche mit Gelenkrheuma und Bindegewebserkrankungen versorgt werden, wie das Behandlungsergebnis ist und ob aktuellen Handlungsempfehlungen der kinderrheumatologischen Fachgesellschaft (GKJR) gefolgt wird.

Ebenfalls an die Kinder-KD bzw. an KRhOKo gekoppelt, ist das in diesem Jahr startende und vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte Verbundprojekt TARISMA, in dessen Rahmen Risikofaktoren für eine unzureichende Versorgung von Personen mit rheumatischen und nicht-entzündlichen Erkrankungen am Bewegungsapparat aufgedeckt und konsekutiv Ansätze für eine verbesserte Versorgung entwickelt werden sollen. Im Teilprojekt ActiMON wird eine Akzelerometer-basierte Erfassung körperlicher Aktivität und sitzender Verhaltensweisen in einer Altersphase (Adoleszenz/frühes Erwachsenenalter) durchgeführt, die durch gesundheitsbezogene Entwicklungsaufgaben, Risiken sowie Chancen charakterisiert ist und zu denen sich im Rahmen chronischer rheumatischer Erkrankungen besondere Herausforderungen gesellen. Ziele sind hier insbesondere die Generierung zuverlässiger Aktivitätsdaten, die Aufdeckung von Barrieren für körperliche Aktivität sowie die Ableitung bewegungsfördernder Maßnahmen, die der Entwicklung von Begleiterkrankungen und negativen Folgen im späteren Leben entgegenwirken.

Die JIA-Fühkohorte ICON

Eine weitere wichtige Datenquelle unserer Forschung ist die vom BMBF geförderte JIA-Fühkohorte ICON (Inception Cohort Of Newly-diagnosed patients with juvenile idiopathic arthritis), in der seit 2010 die Entwicklung von mittlerweile 975 Kindern, Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen mit Gelenkrheuma und etwa 500 gleichaltrigen ohne rheumatische Erkrankung beobachtet wird. Die Erfassung erfolgt bundesweit an elf kinderrheumatologischen Einrichtungen mit dem Ziel, den Krankheitsverlauf und die Auswirkungen des kindlichen Gelenkrheumas (Juvenile idiopathische Arthritis, JIA) besser zu verstehen.

Viele der betroffenen Kinder und Jugendlichen erreichten innerhalb kurzer Zeit eine Beschwerdefreiheit. Diese Phase hielt bei jedem Patienten unterschiedlich lang und nicht immer dauerhaft an. So war die rheumatische Erkrankung zwar im ersten Behandlungsjahr bei über drei Viertel der Kinder und Jugendlichen bereits zum Stillstand gekommen, am Ende des 2. Jahres wiesen aber rund 40% erneut eine moderate bzw. hohe Aktivität ihres Gelenkrheumas auf.

Innerhalb der ersten zwei Beobachtungsjahre konnte der Einsatz von entzündungs- und schmerzlindernden Medikamenten deutlich reduziert werden. Nach 24 Monaten benötigte jedes 4. Kind mit inaktiver Erkrankung gar keine Medikamente mehr. Zwei Drittel der Patienten erhielten krankheitsmodifizierende Medikamente (=Basistherapie mit Wirkstoffen wie z.B. Methotrexat (MTX), Etanercept). Unsere Arbeitsgruppe konnte zudem zeigen, dass soziodemographische und klinische Parameter wie Alter bei Krankheitsbeginn, JIA-Kategorie, Zeit zwischen Symptombeginn und erstem Aufsuchen eines Rheumatologen sowie höhere familiäre Belastungen den Krankheitsverlauf vorhersagen.

Das JuMBO-Register

Das dritte wesentliche Instrument unserer Forschung ist das JuMBO-Register (Juvenile Arthritis-Methotrexate-Biologics long-term Observation), das seit 2007 wichtige Informationen zur Langzeitsicherheit von DMARDs (krankheitsmodifizierende Medikamente) und zum Langzeitoutcome bei Patientinnen und Patienten mit juveniler idiopathischer Arthritis (JIA) liefert. In JuMBO werden aktuell über 1.700 junge Erwachsene, die im Kindesalter an einer JIA erkrankten und im Kinder-Biologika-Register BiKeR (Studienleitung: Prof. Dr. Horneff, St. Augustin) geführt wurden, weiter beobachtet. Die ärztliche Dokumentation erfolgt durch mehr als 400 rheumatologische Praxen bzw. Klinikambulanzen sowie hausärztliche und orthopädische Einrichtungen.

Durch die Behandlungsmöglichkeiten mit Biologika hat sich die medikamentöse Therapie der Patientinnen und Patienten mit JIA in den letzten 20 Jahren gravierend verändert. Bei etwa zwei Drittel der Teilnehmenden an JuMBO ist die rheumatische Erkrankung nicht mehr bzw. nur noch minimal aktiv. Dennoch können die meisten von ihnen noch nicht auf eine medikamentöse Therapie verzichten. Jeder achte Teilnehmende ist derzeit beschwerdefrei und benötigt keine Medikamente mehr.

Transition als weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt

Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt der Arbeitsgruppe Kinder- und Jugendrheumatologie ist die Transition, die den Übergang von Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen mit chronischen Erkrankungen von der kindzentrierten in die erwachsenenorientierte Gesundheitsversorgung beschreibt. Eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für einen erfolgreichen Wechsel junger Rheumatiker in die Erwachsenenmedizin ist die Erlangung einer adäquaten Transitionskompetenz, d.h. ausreichendes Krankheitswissen, Selbstmanagementfähigkeiten und Transferbereitschaft. Seitens der Ärzteschaft sollte ein erfolgreicher Transitionsprozess daher möglichst mit konsentierten Materialien und zugleich patientenorientiert verlaufen. Nicht nur in der Rheumatologie gelingt dieser Übergang noch nicht optimal:  Wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen zufolge bricht etwa ein Drittel der Betroffenen die medizinische Therapie zu diesem Zeitpunkt ab.

Mit Hilfe der Kerndokumentation rheumakranker Kinder und Jugendlicher (Kinder-KD) kann eruiert werden, welche Informationsangebote junge Rheumatiker kennen und wie gut ihr Wissensstand und ihre Vorbereitung auf den Betreuungswechsel in die Erwachsenenmedizin sind. Um den Übergang in die Erwachsenenversorgung zu erleichtern, entwickeln wir in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Rheuma-Liga Unterstützungsangebote und Informationsmaterialien für junge Erwachsene mit rheumatischen Erkrankungen. Grundlage für diese Arbeit bilden vom Bundesministerium für Gesundheit (BMG) geförderte Transitionsprojekte, deren wissenschaftliche Begleitung und Evaluierung in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Rheuma-Liga von unserer Arbeitsgruppe durchgeführt wurde und wird.

Laut Daten der Kerndokumentation rheumakranker Kinder und Jugendlicher konnte die Bereitschaft zum Übergang in die Erwachsenenversorgung und das krankheitsspezifische Wissen von jungen Menschen mit JIA mittlerweile erweitert werden. Maßgeblichen Anteil daran hatte auch die Teilnahme an einem Transitions-Wochenendcamp, das das Krankheitswissen sowie Selbstmanagement junger Rheumatiker nachhaltig erweiterte. Allgemein wurden die Unterstützungsangebote zwar sehr positiv angenommen, jedoch waren sie sowohl den Betroffenen als auch dem Kreis der Behandelnden noch viel zu wenig bekannt. Noch immer vorliegende Defizite machen somit weiteren Handlungsbedarf notwendig.

Kooperationspartner
Seite drucken
Seite teilen

Weitere Forschungsthemen