Home About Us Animal Experiments at the DRFZ

Animal Experiments at the DRFZ

Taking the welfare of animals into account

Research Focus of the DRFZ
Around 10 % of the population suffer from autoimmune diseases such as rheumatism, psoriasis, lupus erythematosus, intestinal inflammation or multiple sclerosis, to name a few. Disability and pain becomes a daily companion. Even worse, these patients are more likely to develop cancer and die at an early age.

Medications available to date must be taken lifelong and may alleviate these chronic diseases but cannot cure them. Even the most effective drugs are merely able to temporarily interrupt the mechanisms of inflammation but do not eliminate their causes. In addition, many therapies are associated with significant side effects, as their mechanisms need to act centrally due to the nature of the disease and thus strongly suppress the immune system. This may lead to intolerances or even therapy failure in the long run. This is why scientists and physicians at the DRFZ are investigating the causes of these diseases, in which animal experiments are still indispensable.

 

Animal Experiments, Alternative Methods, and Animal Welfare

Many alternatives for animal experiments are already in use but cannot completely replace them.

According to the Animal Protection Act, animal experiments are only allowed in cases in which no animal-free methods are available (Animal Protection Act § 7a Passage 2 No. 2). Only by animal experiments, it is possible to find out which circumstances cause the immune system to react against one’s own body. An ex vivo-simulation of how the cells of the immune system communicate with each other and with the other cells of the body in complex organ structures is still not possible to date. However, this knowledge is indispensable for the development of new therapeutic strategies with fewer side effects, of more potent therapies or even of a cure for these yet incurable autoimmune diseases. Likewise, the effects and side effects of drugs on other organ systems and functions can only be tested in a living organism, especially since the complex interactions between the various organ systems have so far been difficult or impossible to simulate in vitro. For this reason, in addition to the fundamental ethical aspects, new therapeutic strategies must first be tested in animal models. If successful, clinical studies are then carried out in the patient.

Less complex interactions, however, can already be investigated without animal experiments, e.g. using cell material from patients or healthy volunteers. For example, many research groups of the DRFZ work completely without animal experiments. They are constantly developing new test systems to analyze cells of the immune system outside the body. However, animal experiments will remain indispensable in the foreseeable future, whilst, at the same time, facilitating the development of possible alternative methods. Also, alternatives are already in use in addition to animal experiments to reduce the number of animals needed.

Alternatives Every scientist is obliged to use alternative methods whenever possible. This animated film gives an overview of this topic.

The 3R Principle This animated film explains the 3R principle and describes how it is implemented in research.
(Source: https://www.tierversuche-verstehen.de/filme/)

Scientists are consulted by independent Animal Welfare Officers who also ensure and monitor the animal welfare at the institution and the compliance with all guidelines and regulations. The Animal Welfare Committee, which meets regularly, supports the Animal Welfare Officers in their work and in surveilling animal welfare.

3R Principles

The scientists at the DRFZ are highly aware of their responsibility towards animals and apply the 3R principle in their animal experiments in order to reduce the suffering of animals in animal experiments to an indispensable level. The 3Rs stand for “Replace, Reduce, Refine”.

In practice, this mean the researchers at the DRFZ try to carry out as many experiments as possible without the use of animals (“Reduce & Replace”), for example by using cell cultures. When carrying out animal experiments, care is taken to use a statistically calculated minimal group size of animals but not more animals than necessary (“reduce”). Today’s highly developed technology now offers many non-invasive research methods (“refine”), which reduce the suffering of the animals and allow for a vast amount of data being generated from a small number of animals (“reduce”).

The Animal Welfare Officers Gudrun Wibbelt from the Leibniz Institute for Zoo and Wildlife Research and Boris Jerchow from the Max Delbrück Center on their work as Animal Welfare Officers.
(Source: https://www.tierversuche-verstehen.de/filme/)

Species, Husbandry, and Handling of Laboratory Animals

The species of animals used in experiments depends on the balancing of two criteria: using the species which suffers least from the experiment whilst being most appropriate for the scientific question.

The DRFZ exclusively works with mice. The genetics, anatomy, and physiology of mice are evolutionarily very similar to those of humans and thus provide an important basis of disease research. Most mice at the DRFZ are genetically modified via special breeding methods or genetic engineering by which specific clinical traits of a human disease can be evoked and examined in a targeted manner. Some mouse strains develop diseases very similar to those in humans and can therefore be used for preclinical testing of novel therapies. However, the clinical presentation in humans is not always depicted 1:1 in the animal – often, it may be more effective to segregate the components responsible for the resulting clinical presentation. For example, by specifically switching off individual genes in so-called knock-out mice, their influence on a certain inflammatory process can be tested. This facilitates a better understanding of the molecular causes of autoimmune diseases and, thus, the development of new and much more specific therapies.

Husbandry and handling of laboratory animals at the DRFZ - Animal welfare and good research go hand in hand.

The mice at the DRFZ are kept in groups, separated by sex. The cages are equipped with fine wood chip bedding. A red plastic house serves as shelter. Due to the special color vision of mice, it is perceived by them as dark on the inside due to their incapability of red spectral vision whilst animal care takers and scientists can check on their well-being without disturbing the cage. Furthermore, nesting material made of cellulose and gnawing sticks are provided in each cage. The animals also have unrestricted access to pelleted food and drinking water.

Strict guidelines are maintained to protect the animals from external influences such as pathogens, which could influence their health status and planned experiments. For this purpose, the animals are kept in individually ventilated cages (IVCs) under so-called SPF (specific-pathogen-free) conditions. In addition, the animal facility is equipped with personnel locks in which the care takers and scientists have to change into special clothing comprised of autoclaved overalls, hairnets, masks, gloves, socks, and shoes. All materials to be transferred into the facility are sterilized by autoclaving or disinfected. In addition, the health status of the mice is determined in regular intervals in order to detect potential pathogens early on.

The handling of laboratory animals is also strictly regulated at the DRFZ. The DRFZ offers a special training program for scientists carried out by the veterinarians concerning the handling of animals, current legislation, and animal welfare which includes a theoretical and a practical part. Successful participation is certified. Only after passing such a training course, a scientist is allowed to handle an animal. In addition, the veterinarians initiate and carry out regular training and further education courses for all employees working with animals with regard to the protection of laboratory animals and the 3R principle.

Laboratory Animal Husbandry and Animal Experiments Employees of the Max Delbrück Center (MDC) in Berlin provide insight into the living and housing conditions of laboratory animals.
(Source: https://www.tierversuche-verstehen.de/filme/)

Severity Assessment

An animal experiment is only permitted by law if the animal´s prospective pain, suffering or harm is ethically justifiable in regard of the purpose of the experiment.

Therefore, the indispensability of a planned animal experiment must be demonstrated and weighed against the expected burden of each individual animal by the following principle: the higher the expected burden on the animal, the greater the scientific benefit must be. The expected burden is assessed in detail and its ethical justifiability is weighed. The burden is not determined by the scientist. Instead, the scientist provides a personal burden assessment, which is critically reviewed by the animal welfare officer and then submitted to the local authorities. These are the ones to determine the severity category for each animal and experiment.

The Directive 2010/63/EU of the European Parliament and the Council of the 22nd of September 2010 on the protection of animals used for scientific purposes distinguishes between the severity categories "mild", "moderate", "severe", and "non-recovery".

Care is taken to keep the burden on the individual animal as low as possible. However, the severity degree of the entire experiment is based on the highest expected burden of an individual animal. This means that – even if some groups of animals are not burdened at all (e.g. control animals) – the entire experiment is still considered a severe burden if one single animal may experience this level of severity.

Source BFR

Definitions of the Severity Degrees
  • “Non-recovery”: this term is used in procedures entirely performed under general anesthesia from which the animal shall not recover consciousness or for the killing of animals for scientific purposes with subsequent removal of organs (without any prior treatment, intervention or manipulation). Latter accounts by far for the largest proportion of animals killed for experimental purposes, and is, despite not being considered an animal experiment according to the Animal Protection Act, included in the annual count of lab animal used.
  • “mild”: procedures on animals as a result of which the animals are likely to experience short-term mild pain, suffering or distress, as well as procedures with no significant impairment of the well-being or general condition of the animals shall be classified as “mild”.
  • “moderate”: procedures on animals as a result of which the animals are likely to experience short-term moderate pain, suffering or distress, or long-lasting mild pain, suffering or distress as well as procedures that are likely to cause moderate impairment of the well-being or general condition of the animals shall be classified as “moderate”.
  • “severe”: procedures on animals as a result of which the animals are likely to experience severe pain, suffering or distress, or long-lasting moderate pain, suffering or distress as well as procedures, that are likely to cause severe impairment of the well-being or general condition of the animals shall be classified as “severe”.

Numbers and statistics

In Germany, a total of 2.85 million animals were used for experimental purposes in 2016.

Rodents, especially mice and rats, represent by far the largest proportion, accounting for 80.9 % of all laboratory animals. This was followed by fish with 10.9 % and rabbits with 3.5 %, while cats and dogs accounted for 0.2 % of all laboratory animals. Human primates were last used for scientific purposes in Germany in 1991.

A total of 252,246 laboratory animals were used in Berlin in 2016.

In 2015, the number of animals was 256,228. Berlin has long been regarded as the “capital of animal testing”. However, the high number of laboratory animals can be explained by the high density of research institutions.

Animal Welfare at the DRFZ

Animal experiments are necessary to understand basic biological processes and develop new therapeutic approaches for human disease. However, scientists are obliged to replace animal experiments whenever possible by alternatives and to work towards the development of further alternative methods.

Legal Framework
  • In 2010, an amendment to the “Directive of the European Parliament and the Council on the protection of animals used for scientific purposes” (2010/63/EU), aiming at the harmonization of the in part widely differing regulations of the individual member states of the EU.
  • Animal experiments are regulated in Germany by the Animal Protection Act and the Animal Protection Ordinance, by which Germany has one of the strictest animal protection laws worldwide. In 2002, animal welfare was even incorporated into the German Constitution as a national objective (Article 20a).
  • Any animal experiment must first be approved by the local authorities, in which the scientific benefit must be substantially justified.
  • In addition to an extensive literature research, the application for an animal experiment must also include a biometric, i.e. mathematical evaluation of the number of animals necessary for scientific analysis which, in turn, limits the number of animals to be used.
  • Animal experiments may only be carried out by specially trained and qualified persons. They are subjected to continuous surveillance by the Animal Welfare Officers and the local authorities.
  • Each animal experiment is recorded and the number of animals used is reported annually to the local authorities.

“Open Debate”: The quality portal for online debates

Open Debate is the debate portal of the Tagesspiegel publishing group for institutions, organisations, and companies who aim at sharing their debates publicly and making them accessible for a prolonged period of time. Open Debate promotes expert discussions on relevant and interesting issues in science, politics, business or society and culture.

Open Debate not only makes debates visible to a wide audience but also provides quick access to the debates and to the most important positions via the Open Debate Map.

Further information: opendebate@tagesspiegel.de

State of the Debate

In many cases, animal experiments are still indispensable in basic research today. The experiments enable scientists to investigate complex biological processes in animals, in order to better understand the human organism and how it functions. Animal experiments also play a decisive role in medicine, for example in the development of new drugs and therapeutic methods. Nevertheless, opponents of animal testing criticize that scientists should switch to existing alternative methods. They demand the abolition of animal experiments. Are animal experiments really necessary for research? And is man allowed to let animals suffer for his interests? In this debate, renowned experts dealing with animal experiments in different contexts speak out – either as they themselves use animal experiments in their research, as they are of the opinion that animal experiments are replaceable or as they devote themselves to the ethical dilemma that animal experiments present. The debate is intended to contribute to a well-informed and objective discussion on animal experiments and to make the various arguments transparent.

Moderator of the debate: Christoph Herbort-von Loeper, Deputy Press Officer of the Leibniz Association

Please read the contributions of the debate so far.

Please read the article by Andreas Radbruch, Scientific Director of the German Rheumatism Research Center Berlin, a Leibniz Institute, and Professor at the Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin.
“The enemy in my body – animal models show ways to cure autoimmune diseases and cancer”

Causa Tagesspiegel

Leibniz debates

Partner organisations

Startseite Über Uns Tierversuche am DRFZ

Tierversuche am DRFZ

Dem Tierwohl Rechnung tragen

Forschungsschwerpunkte des DRFZ
Rund 10 % der Bevölkerung leiden unter Autoimmunkrankheiten wie Rheuma, Schuppenflechte, Lupus Erythematosus, Darmentzündungen oder Multipler Sklerose, um nur einige zu nennen. Invalidität und Schmerz werden zum täglichen Begleiter. Schlimmer noch: Die Wahrscheinlichkeit steigt, dass diese Patienten zudem an Krebs erkranken und früh versterben.
Die bisher verfügbaren Medikamente müssen lebenslang eingenommen werden und können diese chronischen Erkrankungen höchstens abmildern, aber nicht heilen. Selbst die bislang wirksamsten Medikamente sind lediglich dazu in der Lage, die Mechanismen der Entzündung temporär zu unterbrechen, nicht jedoch ihre Ursachen zu beseitigen. Darüber hinaus sind viele Therapien mit erheblichen Nebenwirkungen verbunden, da sie aufgrund der Art der Erkrankung zentral angreifen müssen und damit das Immunsystem stark unterdrücken. Dies führt langfristig zu Unverträglichkeiten oder sogar Therapieversagen. Daher erforschen die Wissenschaftler und Ärzte am DRFZ die Ursachen dieser Erkrankungen, wobei Tierversuche noch immer unverzichtbar sind.

Tierversuche, Alternativmethoden und Tierschutz

Es sind bereits viele Alternativmethoden für Tierversuche im Einsatz, können diese aber nicht vollständig ersetzen.

Laut Tierschutzgesetz dürfen Tierversuche nur dann durchgeführt werden, wenn keine tierfreien Methoden zur Verfügung stehen (Tierschutzgesetz § 7a Abs. 2 Nr. 2). Noch immer kann man ausschließlich im Tierversuch herausfinden, welche Umstände das Immunsystem dazu bringt, gegen den eigenen Körper zu reagieren. Es ist noch nicht möglich, außerhalb des Körpers zu simulieren, wie die Zellen des Immunsystems in komplexen Organstrukturen miteinander und mit den anderen Zellen des Körpers kommunizieren. Dieses Wissen ist jedoch für die Entwicklung neuer, nebenwirkungsärmerer und potenterer Therapien oder sogar Heilungsmöglichkeiten für diese bislang unheilbaren Autoimmunerkrankungen unabdingbar. Ebenso können Wirkungen und Nebenwirkungen von Medikamenten auf andere Organsysteme und -funktionen nur in einem Lebewesen getestet werden, zumal die komplexen Interaktionen zwischen den verschiedenen Organsystemen bisher nur schwer oder gar nicht in vitro darstellbar sind. Neben den grundlegenden ethischen Aspekten müssen daher auch aus diesem Grunde neue Therapiestrategien zunächst im Tiermodell getestet werden. Bei Erfolg werden im Anschluss klinische Studien im Patienten durchgeführt.
Weniger komplexe Zusammenhänge lassen sich jedoch bereits auch ohne Tierversuche mit Zellmaterial von Patienten oder gesunden Freiwilligen untersuchen. So arbeiten viele Gruppen des DRFZ völlig ohne Tierversuche. Sie entwickeln ständig neue Testsysteme, um Zellen des Immunsystems außerhalb des Körpers zu analysieren. Allerdings werden Tierversuche auf absehbare Zeit weiterhin unverzichtbar bleiben, tragen aber gleichzeitig dazu bei, mögliche Alternativmethoden zu entwickeln. Diese werden jedoch auch bereits ergänzend zu Tierversuchen eingesetzt, um die Anzahl benötigter Tiere zu verringern.

Alternativmethoden Jeder Wissenschaftler ist dazu verpflichtet, Alternativmethoden einzusetzen, wann immer dies möglich ist. Dieser Animationsfilm gibt einen anschaulichen Überblick zu diesem Thema.
(Quelle: https://www.tierversuche-verstehen.de/filme/)

Das 3R-Prinzip Dieser Animationsfilm erklärt das 3R-Prinzip und beschreibt, wie es in der Forschung umgesetzt wird.
(Quelle: https://www.tierversuche-verstehen.de/filme/)

Hierbei werden die Wissenschaftler von den weisungsunabhängigen Tierschutzbeauftragten beraten, die zudem das Wohlergehen der Tiere und die Einhaltung sämtlicher Richtlinien und Regularien sicherstellen und kontrollieren. Der regelmäßig tagende Tierschutzausschuss unterstützt die Tierschutzbeauftragten in ihrer Tätigkeit und der Überwachung des Wohlergehens der Tiere.

3R-Grundsätze

Die Wissenschaftler am DRFZ sind sich ihrer Verantwortung gegenüber den Tieren sehr bewusst und wenden bei ihren Tierversuchen das 3R-Prinzip an, um das Leid von Tieren im Tierversuch auf ein unerlässliches Maß zu verringern. Die 3R stehen für „Replace, Reduce, Refine“, zu Deutsch „Vermeiden, Verringern, Verbessern“.
Praktisch bedeutet dies: Die Forscher am DRFZ versuchen, so viele Versuche wie möglich ohne den Einsatz von Tieren durchzuführen („Reduce & Replace“), beispielsweise durch die Verwendung von Zellkulturen. Bei der Durchführung von Tierversuchen wird darauf geachtet, eine statistisch berechnete Mindestgruppengröße von Tieren einzusetzen, aber nicht mehr Tiere als nötig („Reduce“). Die heutzutage hochentwickelte Technik bietet mittlerweile viele nicht-invasive Untersuchungsmethoden („Refine“), wodurch das Leid der Tiere verringert und viele Daten aus wenigen Tieren generiert werden können („Reduce“).

Die Tierschutzbeauftragten Gudrun Wibbelt vom Leibniz-Institut für Zoo- und Wildtierforschung und Boris Jerchow vom Max-Delbrück-Centrum über ihre Tätigkeit als Tierschutzbeauftragte.
(Quelle: https://www.tierversuche-verstehen.de/filme/)

Tierarten, Tierhaltung und Umgang mit Versuchstieren

Die Art der in Tierversuchen verwendeten Tiere besteht aus einer Abwägung zweier Kriterien: die Verwendung der Spezies, die am wenigsten unter den Versuchseinwirkungen leidet, gleichzeitig jedoch am relevantesten für die jeweilige Fragestellung ist.

Am DRFZ wird ausschließlich mit Mäusen gearbeitet. Unter anderem ist die Genetik, Anatomie und Physiologie von Mäusen der des Menschen evolutionsbiologisch sehr ähnlich und bietet somit eine wichtige Grundlage zur Erforschung von Krankheiten. Ein Großteil der Mäuse am DRFZ ist durch spezielle Zuchtverfahren oder durch gentechnische Eingriffe genetisch verändert. Dadurch können spezifische Merkmale einer humanen Erkrankung hervorgerufen und entsprechend zielgerichtet untersucht werden. Einige Mausstämme entwickeln Krankheitsgeschehen, die denen des Menschen sehr ähnlich sind und können somit zur präklinischen Testung neuartiger Therapien eingesetzt werden. Bei vielen Fragestellungen wird jedoch das Krankheitsbild des Menschen nicht 1:1 abgebildet, da es zielführender ist, spezifische Komponenten, die für das resultierende Krankheitsbild verantwortlich sind, isoliert zu untersuchen. Durch gezieltes Ausschalten einzelner Gene in sogenannten Knock-out-Mäusen kann ihr Einfluss beispielsweise auf ein Entzündungsgeschehen getestet werden. Dies hilft, die molekularen Ursachen von Autoimmunerkrankungen besser zu verstehen und somit neue, hochspezifische Therapien zu entwickeln.

Haltung und Umgang mit Versuchstieren am DRFZ - Tierwohl und gute Forschung gehen Hand in Hand.

Die Mäuse am DRFZ werden in Gruppen, nach Geschlecht getrennt, gehalten. Die Käfige werden mit Einstreu ausgebettet. Als Unterschlupfmöglichkeit dient ein rotes Plastikhäuschen. Aufgrund des besonderen Farbsehens der Maus ist dieses für sie innen dunkel, da sie Licht im roten Bereich nicht wahrnehmen kann. Umgekehrt allerdings haben Tierpfleger und Wissenschaftler so die Möglichkeit, die Tiere ungestört in Augenschein nehmen und somit ihr Wohlbefinden überprüfen zu können, ohne die Käfigruhe zu stören. Des Weiteren werden in jedem Käfig Nistmaterial aus Zellstoff sowie Beißhölzchen zum Knabbern zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Tiere erhalten Komplettfutter aus Pellets und Wasser zur freien Verfügung.
Um die Tiere vor äußeren Einflüssen wie Pathogenen, die die Gesundheit der Tiere und geplante Experimente beeinflussen könnten, bestmöglich zu schützen, werden strenge Richtlinien eingehalten. Dazu werden die Tiere in Individually Ventilated Cages (IVCs, einzeln belüftete Käfigsysteme) unter sogenannten SPF (spezifiziert pathogen-freien) Bedingungen gehalten. Zusätzlich ist die Tierhaltung mit Personen-Schleusen ausgestattet, in denen sich die Tierpfleger und Wissenschaftler mit spezieller Schutzkleidung aus autoklavierten Overalls, speziellem Haarnetz, Maske, Handschuhe, Socken und Schuhe ankleiden müssen. Alle eingeschleusten Materialien werden vorher durch Autoklavierung sterilisiert oder desinfiziert. Zudem wird der Gesundheitsstatus der sich in der Anlage befindenden Mäuse in regelmäßigen Abständen bestimmt, um potentiell pathogene Mikroorganismen frühzeitig zu detektieren.
Auch der Umgang mit Versuchstieren ist am DRFZ streng geregelt. Das DRFZ bietet ein von Tierärzten durchgeführtes Trainingsprogramm an, um Wissenschaftler nach geltender Gesetzgebung und unter Berücksichtigung des Tierschutzes für den Umgang mit den Tieren und ihre tierexperimentellen Tätigkeiten auszubilden. Dieses umfasst einen theoretischen sowie einen praktischen Teil. Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme wird mit einem Zertifikat bescheinigt. Erst nach Bestehen eines solchen Trainingskurses ist einem Wissenschaftler der Umgang mit einem Tier gestattet. Darüber hinaus werden für alle mit Tieren arbeitenden Mitarbeiter regelmäßige Schulungen und Fortbildungen hinsichtlich des Versuchstierschutzes und des 3R-Prinzips durch die Tierärzte initiiert und durchgeführt.

Haltung von Versuchstieren und Tierversuche Einen Einblick in die Lebens- und Haltungsbedingungen von Versuchstieren geben Mitarbeiter des Max-Delbrück-Centrums (MDC) in Berlin.
(Quelle: https://www.tierversuche-verstehen.de/filme/)

Schweregrade der Versuche

Gesetzlich erlaubt ist ein Tierversuch nur dann, wenn die zu erwartenden Schmerzen, Leiden oder Schäden der Tiere im Hinblick auf den Versuchszweck ethisch vertretbar sind.

Daher muss die Unerlässlichkeit eines geplanten Tierversuchs geprüft und gegen die zu erwartende Belastung für jedes einzelne Tier abgewogen werden. Es gilt der Grundsatz: Je höher die zu erwartende Belastung der Tiere ist, desto größer muss der wissenschaftliche Nutzen sein.

Bei Tierversuchen wird grundsätzlich die damit verbundene, zu erwartende Belastung für das Tier genauestens beurteilt und seine ethische Vertretbarkeit abgewogen. Die Belastung wird nicht durch den Wissenschaftler festgelegt. Der Wissenschaftler liefert vielmehr eine persönliche Belastungseinschätzung, die von den Tierschutzbeauftragten kritisch überprüft und dann der Genehmigungsbehörde vorgelegt wird. Diese legt dann die endgültige Belastung der Tiere für jeden Versuch fest.

Man unterscheidet anhand der Richtlinie 2010/63/EU des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 22. September 2010 zum Schutz der für wissenschaftliche Zwecke verwendeten Tiere zwischen den Belastungsgraden „gering“, „mittel“, „schwer“ und „keine Wiederherstellung der Lebensfunktion“.

Dabei wird darauf geachtet, dass die Belastung für das Einzeltier so gering wie möglich gehalten wird. Hierbei gilt jedoch, dass sich der Belastungsgrad für den Gesamtversuch an der höchsten zu erwartenden Belastung für das Einzeltier richtet. Das heißt, dass auch wenn andere Tiergruppen in einem Versuch keiner Belastung ausgesetzt sind (beispielsweise Kontrolltiere), gilt der gesamte Versuch dennoch als schwer belastet, wenn ein einzelnes Tier diese Belastung erfahren kann.

Quelle BFR

Begriffsdefinitionen der Belastungsgrade
  • „Keine Wiederherstellung der Lebensfunktion“: Diese Bezeichnung wird bei Verfahren verwendet, die gänzlich unter Vollnarkose durchgeführt werden, aus der das Tier nicht mehr erwacht oder die Tötung von Tieren zu wissenschaftlichen Zwecken zur anschließenden Organentnahme (ohne vorherige Behandlungen, Eingriffe oder Manipulationen). Letztere macht den bei weitem größten Teil der zu Versuchszwecken getöteten Tiere aus und fließt, obwohl sie laut Tierschutzgesetz nicht als Tierversuch gilt, als Belastungsgrad „keine Wiederherstellung der Lebensfunktion“ in die jährliche Versuchstiermeldung mit ein.
  •  „Gering“: Verfahren, die bei Tieren kurzzeitig geringe Schmerzen, Leiden oder Schäden verursachen oder keine wesentliche Beeinträchtigung des Wohlergehens oder des Allgemeinzustands der Tiere hervorrufen, werden als „gering“ eingestuft.
  • „Mittel“: Verfahren, die bei den Tieren kurzzeitig mittelstarke Schmerzen, mittelschwere Leiden oder Schäden oder lang anhaltende geringe Schmerzen verursachen sowie Versuche, die eine mittelschwere Beeinträchtigung des Wohlergehens oder des Allgemeinzustands der Tiere verursachen, werden als „mittel“ eingestuft.
  • „Schwer“: Verfahren, die bei den Tieren starke Schmerzen, schwere Leiden oder Ängste oder lang anhaltende, mittelstarke Schmerzen, mittelschwere Leiden oder Schäden verursachen sowie Verfahren, die eine schwere Beeinträchtigung des Wohlergehens oder des Allgemeinzustands der Tiere verursachen, werden als „schwer“ eingestuft.

Zahlen und Statistik

Tierschutz am DRFZ

Tierversuche sind nötig, um biologische Grundlagen zu verstehen und neue Therapieansätze für den Menschen zu entwickeln. Die Wissenschaftler sind dabei jedoch verpflichtet, Tierversuche soweit wie möglich durch Alternativen zu ersetzen und auf die Entwicklung weiterer Alternativmethoden hinzuwirken.

Rechtlicher Rahmen
  • 2010 gab es eine Novellierung der „Richtlinie des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates zum Schutz der für wissenschaftliche Zwecke verwendeten Tiere“ (2010/63/EU), mit dem Ziel, die zum Teil stark auseinandergehenden Regelungen der einzelnen EU-Mitgliedstaaten zu vereinheitlichen.
  • Tierversuche sind in Deutschland durch das Tierschutzgesetz  und die Tierschutz-Versuchstierverordnung geregelt, wobei Deutschland eines der strengsten Tierschutzgesetze weltweit hat. Im Jahr 2002 wurde der Tierschutz sogar als Staatsziel ins Grundgesetz (Artikel 20a) aufgenommen.
  • Jeder Tierversuch muss zunächst von der zuständigen Behörde genehmigt werden, wobei der wissenschaftliche Nutzen begründet dargelegt werden muss.
  • Zum Antragsverfahren gehört neben einer umfangreichen Literaturrecherche auch eine biometrische, also mathematische Planung der einzusetzenden Tierzahl, so dass diese limitiert ist.
  • Tierversuche dürfen nur durch speziell ausgebildete und geschulte Personen durchgeführt werden. Sie unterliegen dabei der ständigen Kontrolle der Tierschutzbeauftragten und der zuständigen Behörde.
  • Jeder Tierversuch wird protokolliert und die Anzahl der verwendeten Tiere jährlich der zuständigen Behörde gemeldet.

“Open Debate”: Das Qualitätsportal für Debatten im Netz

Open Debate ist das Debattenportal des Tagesspiegel-Verlages für Institutionen, Organisationen und Unternehmen, die ihre Debatten öffentlich und nachhaltig zugänglich machen wollen. Open Debate fördert Expertendiskussionen zu relevanten und interessanten Fragestellungen aus Wissenschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft oder Gesellschaft und Kultur.
Open Debate macht Debatten nicht nur für ein breites Publikum sichtbar, sondern ermöglicht dank der Open Debate-Map auch einen schnellen Zugang zum Debattenstand und den wichtigsten Positionen.
Weitere Informationen: opendebate@tagesspiegel.de

Stand der Debatte

Tierversuche sind in der Grundlagenforschung in vielen Fällen heute immer noch unverzichtbar. Mit den Experimenten untersuchen Wissenschaftler komplexe biologische Prozesse in Tieren, um den menschlichen Organismus und seine Funktionsweise besser zu verstehen. Auch in der Medizin spielen Tierversuche eine entscheidende Rolle, etwa bei der Entwicklung neuer Medikamente und Therapieverfahren. Dennoch kritisieren Tierversuchsgegner, dass Wissenschaftler auf existierende Alternativmethoden umsteigen sollten. Sie fordern die Abschaffung der Experimente. Sind Tierversuche für die Forschung wirklich notwendig? Und darf der Mensch überhaupt andere Tiere für seine Interessen leiden lassen? In dieser Debatte kommen namhafte Expertinnen und Experten zu Wort, die in unterschiedlichen Kontexten mit Tierversuchen zu tun haben. Weil sie selbst Tierversuche in ihrer Forschung einsetzen, weil sie Tierversuche zu ersetzbar halten oder weil sie sich dem ethischen Dilemma widmen, vor das uns Tierversuche stellen. Die Debatte soll ein Beitrag für eine fundierte und sachliche Diskussion über Tierversuche sein und die unterschiedlichen Argumente transparent machen.
Moderator der Debatte: Christoph Herbort-von Loeper, stellvertretender Pressesprecher der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

Bitte lesen Sie hier die bisherigen Beiträge der Debatte.

Bitte lesen Sie hier den Beitrag von Andreas Radbruch, Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin, einem Leibniz-Institut, und Professor an der Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin.
Der Feind in meinem Körper – Tiermodelle zeigen Wege zur Heilung von Autoimmunkrankheiten und Krebs

Causa Tagesspiegel

Leibniz debattiert

Partnerorganisationen